How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Diamond K.

Education

Hunter College,
B.A. Psychology

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/17 - Present
Two girls, ages 2 and 5

Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/18 - Present
Two boys, ages 16 months and 3 years

Travel Newborn Care Specialist
NY, Puerto Rico, NY, Puerto Rico, 10/20 - 11/20
9 week old

Newborn Care Specialist
Short Hills, NJ, NJ, 07/20 - 08/20
Newborn

Newborn Care Specialist
Fair Lawn, NJ, 07/20 - 08/20
Newborn

Night nanny
Manhattan, NY, 10/19 - 11/19
Twin girls, newborn

Weekend NCS
Manhattan, Hampton’s, NY, 08/19 - 10/19
One girl, Newborn

Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/15 - 07/19
Two girls, ages 2 months and 5 years

NCS to Weekend Nanny
Manhattan, NY, 05/18 - 06/19
Two girls, ages 3 months and 3 years

Professional Experience

Project Playdate Staff
Manhattan, Brooklyn, NY, 10/17 - Present

Kids Camp Staff at Kabbalah Center
Manhattan, NY, 06/17 - 11/19

About me

I was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY. I come from a large family and have 3 older siblings and 2 younger siblings, all girls. As a child, I enjoyed being consistently active, reading, dancing, playing with baby dolls, and taking care of children that were younger than me. My natural love to care for children followed me through into my young adulthood, where I am currently pursuing a psychology degree at Hunter College with a concentration in child/adolescent psychology. I consider my field of study beneficial to the childcare industry because it assists me in being aware of what is developmentally expected of children at that specific point in their lives. It also assists me in learning how I can contribute to a child’s development mentally and physically.
   
Growing up with siblings allowed me to be led by my older sisters and lead my younger sisters. My parents taught me how to care for my younger sisters when they were in the newborn stage. That was the beginning of me learning how to care for infants and toddlers solo.i have been working with children ages toddler through pre teen for a little over 10 years. I officially started working with preemie/newborns in 2011. In my second year of high school, I landed my first paid job as an after school nanny to a 5 year old boy. I would leave my last school activity to get to his school in time for dismissal and either take him home, run errands, to activities in and out of Brooklyn, to play dates, or to the playground. I was in charge of overseeing homework, reading time, dinner, bath, and making sure he tidied his play area. During school breaks, I’d plan a day of activities and play dates. I worked with him up until I graduated high school and he was on summer break. From then, I signed up with numerous childcare sites and worked with over 200 families with a variety of babysitting, date nights, full time nanny, part time nanny, and temporary jobs. My day to day responsibilities as a nanny include meal preparation, activity planning, play dates, running errands for the family, taking inventory of food and household supplies, baths, grooming, and most other things needed to help a busy homily run the household. I am also a NCS (Newborn Care Specialist) and took my course through Newborn Care Solutions, a CACHE accredited program. I obtained my official certificate in 2018. My responsibilities as an NCS involves teaching new parents how to care for their babies with the goal of leaving those families with the confidence to care for their babies on their own. I obtained a certificate in child and nutrition and can also speak Spanish. I am pursuing learning Mandarin as well. I have knowledge of baby sign language and incorporate it into my days spent with infants.
   
There is a saying, “It takes a village to raise a child”. That saying deeply resonates with me and how I view childcare as a whole. I believe that children grow up to be well rounded and prepared to enter the world on their own when they have a stable support system and are given the right tools to navigate.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading , organizing my home, listening to music, going to workout, generating new ideas, etc..

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A master NCS, a lactation consultant, a co owner of a unique play space, and a designer of my own kids clothing line.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children different ways in which they can navigate issues they encounter with other kids. I love to teach them how to navigate new structures at the playground and practice using their gross and fine motor skills to accomplish doing for themselves as they like to do. I have an interest in projects that involve using logic and putting things together.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.