How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Klaryssa P.

Education

Borough of Manhattan Community College,
Early Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Teacher's Assistant
Manhattan, New York, 08/19 - Present
Ages, 3mo-2y

Teacher
Manhattan, New York, 05/18 - 08/19
Ages, 9-11

Babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 08/16 - 02/18
One boy, 4 and One girl, 6

Part Time Babysitter
North Bergen, New Jersey, 05/16 - 08/16
One boy, Age 4

Mentor
Manhattan, New York, 10/15 - 05/16
Ages 18-22

Camp Counselor
Cupertino, California, 05/20 - 08/15
Ages 5-13

Professional Experience

Teacher's Assistant
Manhattan, New York, 08/19 - Present

Teacher
Manhattan, New York, 05/18 - 08/19

Care Provider
Brooklyn, New York, 08/16 - 02/18

Care Provider
North Bergen, New Jersey, 05/16 - 08/16

Tutoring
Manhattan, New York, 10/15 - 05/16

Teaching
Cupertino, California, 05/15 - 08/15

About me

I am the oldest of 5 siblings! I always loved being a big sister and watching over my siblings as we were growing up. I attended Borough of Manhattan Community College where I studied Early Childhood Education.

Since I was a little girl, I've always told myself that when I grow up, I want be a teacher. I would pretend that my room was a classroom and that my siblings were my students. Growing up, I was babysitting for my aunts and uncles. After high school, I took an opportunity to go out to California and work at a camp with kids who have special needs. The kids were 5 to 13 years of age and I was working from sunrise to sunset everyday. I set up breakfast, lunch and dinner and also had to distribute medication. The days were kept filled with summer activities such as swimming, fun games, and playing outside. After college, I became a mentor at BMCC to the students who had a learning disabilities. I attended classes with the students and helped out with classwork and homework. While I was a mentor, I was babysitting for a 4 year old boy with a speech delay. I did simple meal and snack preps and would read, sing, and play with him. I also nannied for another 4 year old boy and 6 year old girl. I was with them for about two years. I would pick them up from school, do some homework, bathe them, and prep them a light meal. In 2018, I had my son. It took me about two months to realize I wanted to get back to work. I started working for the Department of Education, where I worked in a middle school classroom. My most recent work has been as a Teacher's Assistant in a classroom of infants and toddlers. My duties include diaper changing, making bottles, feeding them if needed, and prepping lunches. I am also all about play and fun activities!

I love spending time with children. I believe in being imaginative and creative. I do my best everyday to be fun and find a new adventure. My goal is to keep a smile on the children's faces and I love knowing that I have the ability to keep them happy. It keeps me going!

I also love the quote that Dr. Seuss once said, "A person's a person, no matter how small".


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I am usually on mommy mode to my two year old. I love being a mommy! I love exploring and teaching him new things everyday. We go to museums, on fun adventure walks, and have a great time outdoors.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to have my own daycare! I'd love to open, vision and create a wonderful, fun, exciting, educational environment.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Depending on their age group, I love to teach children how to read and write, teach them their shapes, colors, letters and numbers. I love teaching them to use their imagination and creating stories.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.