How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Karla H.

Education

Adelphi University,
B.A. in Psychology and English Literature

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, New York, 01/20 - 03/20
One boy, 8 years old

Pre-School Co-Teacher
Sehlabeng, Berea, Lesotho, 09/17 - 11/19
Boys and girls ages 3-6

Camp Counselor
Hudson Valley, New York, 06/10 - 08/15
Boys (ages 3-5), Girls (Ages 10-12

Professional Experience

Residence Hall Director
Old Westbury, New York, 08/16 - 05/20

Health Educator
Sehlabeng, Berea, Lesotho, 09/17 - 11/19

About me

Hi! My name is Karla Hernandez and I am a Youth Development Specialist with 4+ years experience working with youth in various contexts. I am a born and raised New Yorker, growing up in Queens and receiving a dual degree in English and Psychology from Adelphi University. I am the youngest of four siblings. I enjoy reading, exercise (especially yoga!), sports, cooking, dancing and music.

Most recently, I have returned from the United States Peace Corps, where I proudly served from 2017 until 2019 as a Health Volunteer. I worked at Good Shepherd Centre for Teenage Mothers, a vocational school for young mothers and an epicenter in my local community. In my role I provided health education for young mothers and their children, taught a pre-school health class, and hosted various camps/programs for youth in my community. Prior to this, I worked as a Residence Hall Director at SUNY College at Old Westbury where I managed an upperclassmen residence hall of approximately 100+ students. I have also served as a camp counselor for special needs children (ages 3-5) and inner city youth (ages 10-12) from 2010 until 2015. In this role, I was responsible for supervising group of 5-7 campers, ensuring they participated in camp activities and follow camp rules, providing daily meals, swim instruction, and administering daily medications when necessary.

I love engaging with youth in different ways. I have been very lucky to have gained skills such as teaching, conflict mediation, and psycho-social support through my multifarious experiences. I am always eager to learn new things and love sharing them with the children I work with. I consider myself to be a lifelong learner with a sense of warmth and positivity.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Running! I love to run and have participated in half marathons. I also enjoy volleyball, yoga, dancing (specifically salsa), swimming, and baseball. I am an avid reader and constantly checking books out of the library. I enjoy spending time with friends and family, and also love the outdoors (I've done various hikes locally and abroad).

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to still be working with children either as a social worker or teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Baking, creative writing, art, dancing, and yoga.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.