How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alana A.

Education

EPD - 2015 - Brazil,
MBA in law administration

FMU - 2012 - Brazil,
Bachelor in trilingual executive secretary

Teacher College, Columbia University – 2017,
• English as a Second Language - Advanced Level

Childcare Experience

Dodson/ and Conroy-Randall 2 families- Nanny share
New York City, New York, 11/18 - 03/20
3 children, boys, aged 18 m, 2yo, 4yo

Morales Family – Full Time
New York City, New York, 07/17 - 11/18
B and G, 14m and 2.5yo

Family – Part Time
New York, New York, 09/17 - 12/17
One boy, 9 mo

Lampkin Family - Au Pair
New York, NYC City and Hamptons, 10/15 - 07/17
One girl, 5 mo

Professional Experience

Montessori Day Care – Full time position - Brazil
Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, 04/15 - 10/15

NGO - volunteer English Teacher – Brazil
Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, 02/15 - 04/15

About me

Hello!
My name is Alana. I'm 29 years old and I'm from Brazil. I've been in the United States for 4 years. I came to this country to work as an au pair and after my exchange was over, I changed my visa to a study visa. I am currently preparing myself for law school. I hope to be a lawyer one day and work with immigration and human rights laws as they apply to children. Most recently, I was working for two wonderful families on the UWS as a full-time shared nanny, and I was responsible for 3 beautiful boys ages 5 and 2.5 years old. I was working for them for about 18 months and was responsible for everything related to the two boys, such as daily activities, playdates, trips to the zoo/museums/parks/library, food preparation, grocery shopping, laundry (all related to the kids), doctors’ appointments, engaging activities, and more. I have more than 10 years of experience (I started babysitting when I was 16) and I am truly comfortable working with all ages - specially newborns, infants and toddlers. I am very flexible about schedule and I will be glad to discuss and match the needs of your kids. In this portfolio you will find a little bit more information about me and my qualifications as a caretaker. I hope to be the best fit for your family!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

As a caretaker, I see myself as a someone who has to be a role model for the kids and a mirror of the parents. I understand that you are trusting your most valuable thing in my hands, and my first goal as your nanny is to make sure that I earn this trust. My beliefs as a caretaker are that it is my responsibility to help and respect the education that you as a parent chose for your kids, and help them to develop as human beings in a safe, loving, and mutually respectful environment. I believe that all adults involved in this child`s life should be on the same page and walking towards the same direction regarding this child`s values and education. I believe that the best way to communicate with any person is using love and empa-thy and with our kids this should not be different. I believe that time to play free, outside, in nature, with other kids is one of the most efficient ways to develop a child`s social skills, brain development and autonomy. I believe in the importance of children having healthy and nutritive meals and a regular sleep schedule to get through their day. I believe that we should guide the kids through all the challenges that life will show along their ways instead of deal-ing with these challenges for them. I believe that Positive Education, Montessori Philosophy, and Positive Compliments are very important while raising a child.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I see myself graduated from school and starting my own family ;)

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Managing active calendar of appointments including school, art classes, sports clubs, and play dates. Handling all transportation pick up and drop off (walking, subway, bus, uber). Intervening during strong disagreements, establishing open and safe environment for communication. Changing diapers, bathing, preparing meals and bottles, feeding, bedtime and activities, potty training. Engaging with the kids including talking, reading, playing, crafts, etc.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.