How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marlene D.

Education

CUNY Hunter College,
B.A. in Biochemistry

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/18 - Present
Girl, 18 months, boy, 4 years old

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/18 - Present
Boy, 2 months

Occasional Babysitter
Long Island City, NY, 07/18 - Present
Boy and girl twins, 3 years old


Long Island City, NY, 05/17 - 03/20
Boy, 18 months old, girl, 3 years old, girl b.2018

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/18 - 03/20
Boy, 18 months, girl, 4 years old

Part-Time Babysitter
Long Island City, NY, 02/18 - 03/20
Boy, 1 month, girl 4 years old

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, Short Hills, South Orange, NY, NJ, 06/14 - 05/18
Girl, 18 months

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/17 - 02/18
Three girls, ages 5, 6 and 1 week

Date-night Sitter
New York, NY, 03/17 - 06/17
Girl, 6 and boy, 10

Part-Time Babysitter
Long Island City, NY, 06/16 - 02/17
Two girls, ages 9 months and 3 years

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 12/13 - 07/16
Boy and girl twins, age 2 and girl age 8

Professional Experience

Research Assistant
New York, NY, 02/16 - 04/17

Tutor
New York, NY, 06/11 - 01/17

Tour Guide at Pop-Up
New York, NY, 06/16 - 09/16

Lifeguard and Swim Instructor
New York, NY, 10/12 - 02/14

Cashier and Server
Brooklyn, NY, 11/10 - 09/11

About me

I grew up in Greenpoint, Brooklyn with one older brother. We would always find new ways to play together and I have amazing memories of spending lots of time outdoors. I really enjoyed learning about science in school, so I went on to complete my bachelor's degree in biochemistry. I hope to one day contribute to scientific research that will help cure diseases and discover new information to help doctors. While attending school, I started babysitting. I have always loved being around children and teaching them new things. I was also a lifeguard and swam on the school's swim team. I have also been traveling to different places over the past few years. It has been so inspirational that I have decided to continue babysitting and have flexibility to keep traveling before moving on to the field of science.

I have worked with children for the past 7 years and have learned how to handle different family dynamics and routines. Being involved with over 11 families, most over the course of several years, I have been able to watch children develop and be a part of their growth. Working with kids from the age of 2 weeks to 12 years, I understand the developmental process at each stage. I have prepared breast milk and formula, sleep trained and potty trained several children. I have worked with twins, multiple children, special needs children and accompanied families on vacations where I would sometimes even teach kids how to swim.

I believe that children are able to teach their caregivers so much. Children have a fresh perspective on life and remind me of what's really important, something that is often overlooked with daily work. I believe it is important to empower and teach children values that they can carry throughout their lives as they get older, while also having fun and being a kid.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

In my free time I am spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy going to the gym or going on a hike. Ideally, I am traveling and exploring a new place!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to become involved with fertility research.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I enjoy playing sports so I love introducing kids to different ways of moving their body and getting some exercise! I also love to bake and give kids an opportunity to make something delicious, even if that means getting a little messy. Speaking of messy, arts and crafts are definitely my favorite. I love showing kids that they can make art out of anything.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.