How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Tashleen P.

Education

City University of New York,
Associates in Communication
Associates in Nursing

Childcare Experience

Part time Baby sitter
Queens, NY, 06/16 - 03/20
Two girls, 7 years old

Full time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 05/17 - 01/20
one girl 4 years old

Full time- Live in Nanny
Rye Brooke, NY, 01/12 - 01/13
Two boys and one girl 2, 7 and 11

Full Time-Live in Nanny
Portland, Oregon, 12/10 - 12/11
Two boy and one girl ages 6 months, 4 and 7 years

Professional Experience

Part time coctail server
Manhattan, NY, 11/17 - 03/20

Seasonal Resturant Manager
Manhattan, NY, 06/16 - 10/16

Event Host
Manhattan, NY, 08/14 - 08/15

Seasonal Country Club Supervisor
Hartsdale, NY, 05/13 - 08/14

About me

I grew up in colorful BO-KAAP in Cape Town, South Africa as the youngest of three children. After high school I decided to travel to various countries across the continent of Africa and the United States. 8 years ago, I settled in Brooklyn, New York and I went on to pursue an undergraduate degree in Communications.
   
During my first two years in the US, I worked as an Au pair. I was placed with a wonderful family in Portland, Oregon where I cared for 3 children, ages 6 months, 4 years and 7 years old. In my second year I worked for a family in Rye Brook, New York. They had 3 beautiful children aged 2, 7 and 11 years old. I spent my high school years babysitting and I still do part time/weekend babysitting. My most recent experience is caring for a 4-year-old little girl for the last 2 years.
   
For all the above mentioned positions my responsibilities included preparing and serving meals with balanced nutrition, ensuring food safety. I picked up and dropped off children at/from school and extra-curricular activities. I helped with homework and arranged playdates. Organized fun and educational games, arts and crafts. I planned outdoor activities. I intervened during strong disagreements between children, ensuring open and safe communication. I performed light housekeeping duties such as child’s laundry and ran errands for parents including grocery shopping.
   
I love being a nanny because everyday is different. While we do have routines, I love the flexibility to be able to go out on a new adventure every day. Learning and exploring the world through the eyes of a child is truly the best, and no two days of growing are the same.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I'm usually doing online school work, at home spending time with family and socializing with friends. I am also an active cyclists, most Saturday mornings I cycle in various parks across the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be a registered nurse, working towards completing a certification in Nursing-Midwifery

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

It is my belief that helping children develop their social skills can make a lasting positive impact on their life. People with good social skills often know what to say when, how to behave in a variety of situations, and how to make good choices. I like to practice social skills with children in a variety of fun ways...such as taking turns telling short stories and engaging in conversation by asking question about the story told. Practice decision making scenarios by frequently giving children choices to practice making decisions. I also like to practice social skills by giving children instructions to complete a task. This can be used in a variety of situations such as arts and crafts activities, academic tasks, a cooking activity or a physical activity. I believe these will help develop children's listening skills, following directions, taking turns, cooperating, showing empathy and decision making skills.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.