How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jane H.

Education

Lehman College- CUNY,
B.S. in Psychology and Minor on ECE

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
BRONX, NY, 09/17 - Present
One boy, 3 years

Full time summer/ After-school Babysitter
New York, New York City, 07/19 - 03/20
3 boys, ages 2 1/2 and 4

Part-Time Babysitter
BRONX, NY, 09/17 - 06/18
One girl and one boy, ages 2 and 4

Professional Experience

Teacher Assistant
Bronx, NY, 02/18 - Present

Head Teacher
Bronx, New York, 10/16 - 11/18

About me

My name is Jane and I am 33 years old. I am from the Dominican Republic and grew up as the oldest child of a small family of four. As a child I remember being involve in the different art activities and presentations in school. I moved to the United States at age of twenty looking for better quality of life and specifically to study. Even though I was studying Industrial Engineering in my country when I moved here I discovered a passion I did not know I had - childcare!

I started working in a daycare to help out the owner while I acclimated myself into a new country, new language, and new life. This opportunity opened many doors for me. I was later accepted in school and little by little I began to work in the educational field. First I started as a tutor for a state funded program where I would go to the student's home for certain amount of hours. From there I started to work as a tutor for an after-school program throughout the year and also as a counsel for the summer camp, allowing me to work with different school aged kids. Looking for more long-term stability I got a job as a teacher assistant for an early intervention program. This school taught me so many things about children with different needs, IEP's, and also allowed me to work together with the different therapists for the specific child's needs. After graduating from my bachelor's program, I started to work as a teacher for preschoolers and for the past two years as a UPK teacher. Then, two years ago I began working for the Department of Education as a teacher assistant.

I love the opportunity I have to serve in my community and to be able to be an agent of change in the life of all these children empowering them through learning.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

At home! I love the peace and tranquility that I have in my house. I love reading, cooking, baking and if not home I am spending time with friends and family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still working on the educational field somehow, finished my master degree and I would like to be able to help English language learners.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

As I mentioned before I love reading and extend that to all my students, arts and craft and have some fun in the kitchen with some kid's friendly recipes.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.