How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sara S.

Education

Montgomery College,
Associates Degree in Graphic Design

Fashion Institute of Technology,
Working toward a B.F.A. in Garphic Design

Childcare Experience

Assistant Teacher
New York, New York, 08/18 - 08/19
Class of 18, 3 and 4 year old boys and girls

After-School Babysitter
New York, New York, 10/18 - 06/19
One girl, age 5

Camp Counselor
Silver Spring, Maryland, 06/18 - 08/18
Class of 8 two-year-olds

After- School Babysitter
Silver Spring, Maryland, 06/18 - 08/18
Two children, a boy age 3 and a girl age 5

Professional Experience

Assistant Teacher
New York, New York, 08/18 - 08/19

About me

I grew up in Silver Spring, Maryland and I am the second of five children. As a child, I loved doing all sorts of arts and crafts and drawing and I would spend hours playing with Polly Pockets, creating little worlds for them with my sisters.

Because of my love of design, I am pursing a degree in graphic design from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. I received my Associates Degree several years ago and I hope to have completed my Bachelors in Fine Arts degree by next spring. I took a year off from school to move to New York and worked as a Nursey School teacher in Manhattan.

Growing up in a relatively large family, I was responsible for my younger siblings and their friends from a young age. As such, I am very comfortable with and relate to children quite well. I believe that's why children tend to be so comfortable with me.

In addition to babysitting for my own siblings, I began caring for neighbors' children early on. Since then, I have always worked with children, as a baby sitter, a camp counselor and then as a teacher. My love of using art for fun and learning has always been one of the things I enjoy doing with children and I've found that it is something that captivates most children. It is also a wonderful way to relate to children, to sit side-by-side with them and create something together.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not babysitting, I'm usually spending time with friends, exercising or drawing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A creative director in a graphic design department of a company or non profit organization. I would also like to be married with children of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love doing arts and crafts and drawing with children. Children love to create and I love to develop fun and creative art projects we can do together.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.