How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alex D.

Education

Boston University,
B.S. in Journalism

Childcare Experience

Babysitter and tutor
Wilmington, DE, 06/18 - 06/20
One girl and one boy, ages 10-12

After-school babysitter
Brookline, MA, 09/19 - 03/20
One girl, age 10

Camp Director
Wilmington, DE, 06/19 - 08/19
Boys and girls, ages 5-13

Camp Assistant Director
Wilmington, DE, 06/17 - 07/18
Boys and girls, ages 5-13

Camp Counselor
Wilmington, DE, 06/13 - 08/15
Boys and girls, ages 5-13

Professional Experience

Hostess
Wilmington, DE, 06/19 - 08/19

Cashier and food prep
Wilmington, DE, 06/18 - 08/18

Hostess
Boston, MA, 08/17 - 01/18

About me

I was born and raised in the often forgotten state of Delaware. Growing up as an only child, I was, as many only children can relate, desperate for a sibling. Instead, I found an incredible sense of independence and a deep connection with my parents. As an only child, I recognized the importance of a good babysitter from a very young age — she was the person I could look up to when there wasn't a sibling in whose footsteps to follow.

As a young teen I did what many did, I babysat the neighborhood kids for cheap. From that, I ended up working at a summer camp by age 15 and continued with it up to Director of a summer program last year. Now, having just graduated from Boston University with a degree in journalism, I (finally) realized that what I've wanted to do has been what I've been doing all along. Reporting was not for me, but working with kids always has been. I'm now taking a year or two off before pursuing my Masters in Education — and what better way than spending time doing what I love?

In addition to Directing a summer program with 50+ campers ages 5-13, I have had a few long term sitting positions. I have worked with a local family during summers for the last two years, the kids now 10 and 12-years-old. I brought them to and from camp, cooked meals, and kept them entertained. Additionally, I tutored them several hours a day when their school went online due to the coronavirus, this included scheduling, teaching lessons, and talking with teachers. My other experience was working with a 10-year-old girl for seven months leading up to the coronavirus. I assisted her with school work, organized playdates as well as did housekeeping such as laundry, cooking, dishes and general tidying.

I have always loved the simple act of communicating with new people, a part of why I chose journalism, but some of the most interesting and enlightening conversations I’ve had have been with the kids I’ve worked with. They may not have the dense knowledge of adults but they have a perspective on the world that we could only hope to regain, by being around kids and helping them grow I feel like I’m fostering that incredible energy and sustaining it as long as possible.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

I'm usually studying, however after graduating I am now learning to develop new past times. The down time I've been given during the pandemic has fostered growth in my relationship with my parents as well as given me time to pay attention to the hobbies I enjoy such as yoga, painting, flipping thrifted clothing and running (still working on that one).

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I hope to be graduated from grad school with my Masters in Education and working for a school that cares deeply about its students and surrounded by incredible kids. I hope I will still be in New York, there is work to be done in the school systems (as is everywhere) and I love the city deeply.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching children new ways to learn, involving moving around, getting off their screens, games to learn math facts, spelling contests, etc. I also love to create art with kids, sitting with them and creating something beautiful together can improve their mood, keep them entertained and is a great break when they're working hard.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.