How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sylvie H.

Education

The School of the Art Institute of Chicago,
B.F.A in Studio Art, with an emphasis in Sculpture

Childcare Experience

Daytime Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 01/15 - 01/16
One boy, 1 year, One girl, age 5

Babysitter and Nanny
Cincinnati, OH, 01/10 - 01/15
Three girls, twins age 3.5-8, oldest girl, 6-9

Babysitter
Cincinnati, OH, 01/06 - 01/14
One girl age 2-10, One boy age 0-7

Evening Babysitter
Cincinnati, OH, 01/10 - 01/13
One girl, under 1 year- age 4

Summer Babysitter
Cincinnati, OH, 06/10 - 08/10
One boy, age 6, one girl, age 3

Professional Experience

Art Teacher, Party Coordinator, Office Assistant
New York, NY, 01/19 - 03/20

Art Handler
New York, NY, 01/19 - 03/20

Library Assistant
Chicago, IL, 06/17 - 06/18

Workshop Leader
Chicago, IL, 06/17 - 08/17

Tutor
Cincinnati, OH, 09/11 - 05/13

About me

I grew up in Cincinnati, OH, the youngest of three siblings. I was lucky enough to spend lots of time outside, being creative and active. I began to study Art History, Painting, and Drawing, while playing competitive sports. I went on to study Studio Art at The School of The Art Institute of Chicago. After I graduated, I worked in an art research library and in arts education settings. I left Chicago to do Artist Residencies around the US, and moved to NYC in 2019. Since then, I have worked at museums and galleries throughout the city, and at an art and music school for kids.

I began babysitting as a teen, and have been doing childcare work for over a decade. I regularly babysat for a family for eight years–they would call me whenever they needed anything (two kids ages 2-10, 0-7). I also worked with a family for three years, multiple days a week, as an evening sitter for their infant daughter. I began when she was under a year old and watched her grow to be almost 4. I fed her, changed her diaper, played games, and read to her. Additionally, I regularly babysat three girls for five years, and nannied them for one summer. On top of playing and doing activities, I prepared meals and snacks, put them to bed, tidied the house, and ran errands when necessary. For many summers, I was also a lifeguard and swim instructor for kids. Once I graduated College, I began teaching workshops for girls and gender non-conforming youth, creating safe spaces for them to make art. While in New York, working at the art school, I would pick up kids via foot or subway, give them a snack, and assist with their after-school art class (ages varied 5-10, up to six students).

Regardless of age or interests, I try to encourage all of the kids I work with to use creativity in their daily lives, whatever way that may be, and to feel comfortable being their unique selves. I think it is important to foster environments for kids to feel confident expressing themselves, and knowing that their feelings and thoughts are significant. I have hope that if enough care and love is given to kids that we can all live in a better world!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

reading, making art, cooking, and biking around the city.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

an artist living in NYC.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

cooking, reading, playing sports, swimming, being outside, playing games, making art, doing crafts, and listening to music.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.