How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Allison M.

Education

Eugene O'Neill Theater Center,
National Theater Institute

Oklahoma City University,
BFA in Acting
Minor in Directing

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter- summers and date nights
Brooklyn, NY, 07/18 - Present
girl from ages 3-5

Tutor and Caregiver
Brooklyn, NY, 09/20 - 11/20
5 year old boy

After-School babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 10/20 - 11/20
3.5 year old girl

Nanny
New York, NY, 09/18 - 03/20
started at 9 mo and she is currently 2 and a half

After-School babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/19 - 01/20
girl and boy ages 5 and 7

After-School babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/18 - 06/19
boy from ages 3-4, infant from 6 mo-16- mos

Summer time fill in (two weeks of full day care)
Brooklyn, NY, 06/18 - 07/18
2 girls ages 3 and 5

Professional Experience

Intern
Brooklyn, NY, 02/19 - 06/19

Summer Camp Assistant Director
Oklahoma City, OK, 07/16 - 08/17

About me

Born and raised on the coast of South Texas, I grew up performing ballet, singing and acting, making art, and going to the beach. I attended Oklahoma City University where I earned a BFA in Acting with a minor in Directing, and spent a semester training at the National Theater Institute at the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center. After graduating I moved to Brooklyn to continue pursuing performance and art making. I spend my time dancing, making visual and performance art, and camping and hiking every chance I get! I love working with children because I am able to exercise my creative and problem solving skills while also learning more about the world around me through a child's perspective.

I have cared for children ages 6 months through age 12. Additionally, I have experience as a teacher and a camp counselor with middle and high school aged students. Most recently, I cared for and tutored a 5 year old kindergartner as he worked through online schooling. This involved navigating online classrooms, practicing reading, writing and math skills, preparing lunch, and assisting with independent work. After virtual school, I picked up a 3.5 year old girl from her pre-school then safely walked her home. At home we enjoyed painting, miniature model making, dance parties, inventions, and walks outside. Before the city-wide shutdown, I was working nearly full time with a 2.5 year old girl who I had cared for since the age of 9 months. My job as her nanny included reading, playing, accompanying her to art or music classes, making snacks and meals (bottle feeding as an infant), maintaining the nap schedule, and monitoring milestones. Though I especially enjoy working with infants and early school aged children, I find there is something exciting to discover and explore at every point in a child's life.

I prioritize listening and creativity as a way to connect, as I believe each child has unique needs and various ways of communicating. I believe every child deserves to be heard and seen. I feel lucky to work in such a fulfilling and inspiring field, and feel that all of my best qualities are put to use working in childcare.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I'm not nannying or babysitting I am usually spending time with friends seeing live performances such as music, dance, theater and comedy. If I am working on a show myself, I am rehearsing, or spending time in a studio experimenting. I enjoy making various forms of visual art including sculpture, mobiles, paintings, and drawings, along with performance and video. Since the pandemic I spend time in parks, ride my bike, go on walks, try new forms of art, take virtual classes, and reading about somatics and psychology. I enjoy the outdoors and love to hike and camp for leisure when I get the chance.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to be still in New York making art and practicing some sort of care or healing as a profession. I hope to be in the field of Art Therapy as well as certified in a somatic or movement healing modality in order to offer care and treatment to those interested.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Having trained in classical ballet for 18 years, I love to share dance and movement with children. Along with dance, music and visual art are a big part of my life, and are usually implemented into my work. I love nature and like to share experiences outdoors when the opportunity presents itself- I'll take any chance to be near some trees! Recently I have enjoyed finding creative ways to practice more sustainable art- such as using recycled materials, or finding exciting ways to use unassuming materials in projects. Reading, pretending, listening to music and playing creatively are common activities when I'm working. I love to learn, so discovering things the child is interested in or finding things we both have in common is exciting for me, and one of the ways I like to connect with children.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.