How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Isabella S.

Education

University of St. Andrews,
MA - International Relations & Social Anthropology

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter (for families on vacation)
St. Andrews, Scotland, 03/17 - 07/19
Boys and girls ages 4 - 7

Instructor
Ritsona Refugee Camp, Greece, 06/16 - 08/16
Dozens of children, ages 3-12

After-School Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - 09/15
Two boys and a girl, ages 7, 10 and 13

After-School Nanny
New York, NY, 09/11 - 06/14
Boy and a girl, ages 4 and 7

Professional Experience

Administrative Assistant
New York, NY, 01/20 - 04/20

Barista
St. Andrews, Scotland, 08/17 - 12/19

Principal's Assistant
New York, NY, 06/11 - 08/18

Legislative Intern
Washington D.C., Washington D.C., 06/17 - 08/17

About me

Born and raised in a big family in New York City, my childhood was filled playing basketball and debating ferociously in Model UN. Fascinated by global politics, I headed to Scotland to attend the University of St. Andrews and received my MA in International Relations and Social Anthropology. While in college, I spent months working with women and children on Ritsona Refugee Camp, a job that completely reoriented my path. Since graduating I've work for NGOs in NYC and Ghana, the latter with a focus on access to quality healthcare and education for children.

Beginning in high school I worked with two different families for multiple years, both of which I am close with to this day. I spent two days a week with each of these two families, one with three children ages 7-13 and the other with two children ages 4 & 7. My responsibilities included picking up kids from school, bringing them to after-school activities, helping with homework, cooking dinner, putting them to bed and doing some light cleaning. All in addition, of course, to playing games and having a heaps of fun. During this period, I also spent multiple years tutoring two seven year old students with learning challenges, helping them with their school work and reporting their progress back to their school. A few years later, I spent time organizing and facilitating activities for children aged 3-12 living on Ritsona Refugee Camp. For younger children, these activities focused on cultivating individuality, imagination and opportunities for guided relaxation. For older children, we taught Math and English in addition to creating that space for play. Following this position, I obtained my Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) certification.

As a sister to much younger siblings, there are always children in my life. Whether it's in a family home or on a refugee camp, through babysitting, tutoring, or looking after my brother and sister, I have found child-centered spaces to be where I feel most comfortable and imaginative. Especially now, in the midst of so much external confusion, I would love to help foster those same spaces for families in my own city.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Cooking, reading, running or doing yoga! In these past few months I've also loved putting on my mask, heading out and taking pictures of city during these wild times.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Earning, or have earned, a postgraduate degree in humanitarian intervention, advocating for increased rights/protections for refugee children!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love cooking with children! I absolutely cherish the memories I have in my family kitchen, learning from my mom and teaching my siblings. No matter the number of kids I'm looking after, cooking together has always provides space for fun, conversation and cultivating a feeling of pride in contribution.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.