How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Meredith C.

Education

Academy of Art University,
B.A. in Architecture

Childcare Experience

Nanny/Personal Assistant
Fort Collins, Colorado, 01/19 - 12/19
Boy-9, Girl-13

Pre-K Teacher
Denver, Colorado, 09/19 - 12/19
8 Children- Aged 3 months to 1.5 years

Full-Time Nanny
Charlotte, North Carolina, 08/18 - 01/19
Girl-1.5 Years

Fill in Babysitter
Houston, Texas, 07/17 - 08/17
Boy-2, Girl-4, Girl-9

Live In Nanny/ Personal Assistant
Fort Collins, Colorado, 10/15 - 08/16
Boy-4, Girl-7

Professional Experience

Personal Assistant
Fort Collins, Colorado, 01/19 - 12/19

Pre-K Teacher
Denver, Colorado, 09/19 - 12/19

Full-Time Nanny
Charlotte, North Carolina, 08/18 - 01/19

Fill in Babysitter
Houston, Texas, 07/17 - 08/17

Front Desk Associate
Charlotte, North Carolina, 08/16 - 12/16

Live In Nanny/Personal Assistant
Fort Collins, Colorado, 10/15 - 08/16

About me

I grew up in beautiful Denver, Colorado! I have one older brother, who I look up to immensely! We constantly were traveling and being introduced to new places and learned the beauty of the world. As a child, I was always on the go doing different activities and learning new things. I enjoyed ballet, which was a part of my life for 4 years. I ended up transitioning out of ballet, though I continued to dance for most of my childhood until my preteen years. This taught me a lot of discipline, as well as patience. I also enjoyed competitive cheerleading and continued that for ten years! My mother made sure I was also involved with music as a child, and music is still very much important to me today. I took piano lessons and even learned how to play guitar. I loved to sing as a child and was in honors chorus throughout middle and high school and even traveled and competed in competitions with my chorus group, as well as individually. In addition, I loved reading and still do. I read a book per week as a child and still fit in reading into my daily schedule. I have read many nannying books, as well as personal growth books. As a child, I spoke fluent Spanish but did not keep up with it, but I am working on learning it again and added in Russian! I also love art and am currently finishing my Bachelors of Architecture online at the Academy of Art University and will be graduating in two semesters. I have also received Early Childhood Education Certificates.

I have worked with children for the past five years. I have been lucky enough to get to experience every age group from 3 months to 15 years old. I have held many titles such as Live-in Nanny, Full-time and Part-time Nanny, as well as Infant Pre-K teacher. Each age group taught me so many different useful skills, as well as learning how truly different and diverse each age group is. There are so many incredible developmental marks that each age group experiences and that I adore being a part of. Working with toddlers, I organized and conducted age-appropriate recreational activities, such as games, arts and crafts, sports, walks, and playdates. I also prepared meals according to the children's schedules and always planned snacks if we happened to take an excursion that day. I would read to the children and teach them simple painting, drawing, handicrafts, and songs. The children also learned basic skills such as colors, shapes, numbers and letter recognition, personal hygiene, and social skills. I made sure to maintain accurate daily records of children's individual activities, behaviors, meals, and naps. With older children I helped prepare meals, snacks, and refreshments for children, accounting for individual dietary needs and restrictions. I always engage with the children, provide nurturing, safe environments to promote emotional, social, and intellectual growth and observe and monitor play to identify developmental strengths and target areas for enrichment activities. I have also assisted younger children with learning how to accomplish small, age-appropriate jobs and planned fun excursions to enhance physical abilities and expose children to stimulating educational activities.

I grew up with my mother being a special education teacher and it shaped me into who I am today. She was also a nanny in her early twenties so I have been able to ask her questions and learn a lot from her. I have love and compassion for children and enjoy being able to foster their development! I am a very punctual person with patience and flexibility. I believe that communication is extremely important when working with families and children. I love art and applying that creativity into the children's lives so that they can express themselves. I also love being active and being outside. I also enjoy traveling in my free time and exploring new cities. I have huge interests in learning new cultures and trying out different foods! I do yoga weekly and love taking a run around Central Park or going for a picnic. Before Covid, I regularly volunteered at animal shelters. I love being able to socialize and help the animals who aren't able to help themselves! I enjoy cooking and have grown up learning recipes from my mother and grandfather.

On top of being a nanny, I have also worked as a personal assistant. My duties included managing household budgets and allocating expenditures for groceries, property, and home maintenance, as well as bill payments. Additionally, I planned and coordinated travel arrangements and logistics for out-of-town functions. I also managed incoming and outgoing correspondence, including mail, email, and faxes. On top of those duties, I've also been in charge of pet care for the families I nannied for. I cared for family dogs, including feeding and walking the pet several times per day. I also managed household inventory and maintenance schedules.

I believe that positive reinforcement and communication are the best for the child's growth. For example, if a child throws a toy in a tantrum, I will talk to the child about why he or she was upset and why throwing toys isn't safe or a good idea, and then the child can proceed to safely play with the toys. Secondly, another philosophy I have is that I believe children learn best in a nurturing, child-initiated play-based environment that fosters self-confidence, trust, creativity, autonomy, and acceptance of individual differences. Although I have my own philosophies, I will always learn the parent's styles and philosophies and respectfully implement what they prefer.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time reading, hanging out with friends, or doing yoga! I also love cooking!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Id like to gain more experience in my profession! I plan to learn more relevant skills that add value to me as an employee!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I think art and crafts is a great activity for children! With one of my previous jobs, I took the child to paint pottery for their parents for a Christmas gift for them! I also love reading with and to the children to help further their education skills!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.