How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Isabel C.

Education

Oberlin College,
B.A. in English and Creative Writing

Childcare Experience

Babysitter and Personal Assistant
New York, NY, 01/20 - 03/20
8-month-old boy

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/18 - 12/19
A 12-year-old boy and a 9-year-old girl

Professional Experience

Reading Tutor
Oberlin, OH, 09/15 - 05/18

Executive Assistant
Los Angeles, CA, 01/15 - 08/15

About me

Hi, I'm Isabel! I grew up in South Pasadena, California, where I got my first babysitting experience taking care of my younger brother and his friends. I was a competitive gymnast as a child before attending an arts high school, where I studied theater and visual art. I then graduated from Oberlin College, where I majored in English and Creative Writing. While in college, I also worked in the local elementary school as a reading tutor, and that's when I really developed a love of sharing my passions for reading, writing, and the arts with young people.

I was a reading tutor in a third grade classroom for 3 years, where I worked one-on-one with students to help them improve their literacy skills. I loved learning from the classroom teacher and helping students overcome challenges, build confidence, and meet their academic goals. After graduating from college, I began working as an after-school babysitter for siblings who were 12 and 9 years old when I started the job. I stayed in that position for a year and a half, and I really enjoyed getting to know the family and being a part of their daily life. I picked the kids up from school, took them to after-school activities, supervised and helped with homework, thought up activities and games to keep them engaged in the afternoons, cooked dinner every evening, and helped around the house and with the family's 2 dogs. I then moved into a new job, where I worked as both a babysitter and personal assistant for a creative couple with an infant son. I was responsible for caring for the baby while his parents worked, maintaining his daily schedule, engaging him in play, and preparing and supervising all meals and snacks, as well as performing personal assistant duties for the parents, including managing schedules, emails, and social media accounts and making phone calls.

I've really enjoyed all the childcare positions I've held, because I truly love connecting with kids of all ages, helping them learn and develop their unique interests and skills, and giving them opportunities to express themselves through art, play, and storytelling.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Being from Southern California, I love swimming and going to the beach, and in my free time I enjoy reading, writing, cooking, baking, and spending time outdoors. I also love doing yoga and am a trained yoga instructor.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Writing for a kids' news podcast or educational kids' TV show

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to read aloud to kids and do writing projects, including helping kids of all ages write and illustrate their own books. I also like cooking and baking with kids, doing all kinds of arts and crafts (everything from working with paints and pastels to making slime), and playing sports and spending time outdoors. One of my favorite bigger projects I've done with kids while babysitting is to help them write, direct, and star in their own play or movie, including painting sets and sewing costumes.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.