How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ripley P.

Education

New York University Tisch School of the Arts,
BFA in Drama with Honors

Childcare Experience

Full-Time After School Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/20 - 03/20
One girl, age 10

Date-Night Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/15 - 03/20
Two boys, from ages 2 and 6 to 7 and 11

Date-Night Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/17 - 03/20
A boy and a girl, ages 8 and 11

Part-Time Sitter/Mother's Helper
Queens, NY, 08/18 - 01/19
One boy, 11-months-old

Professional Experience

Data Collector
New York, NY, 01/17 - 04/20

Care Specialist at Candid Co
New York, NY, 01/19 - 12/19

Retail Sales Associate at Warby Parker
New York, NY, 10/18 - 12/18

About me

I was born and raised in Braintree, Massachusetts just outside of Boston. Growing up, I'd run around the house playing dress-up, putting on plays, and playing make-believe in my backyard with my younger sister, Renee. My parents enrolled me in my first acting class when I was 5-years-old and I'm so thankful they did. I've always had a love for acting and I moved to New York in 2013 to attend NYU's Tisch School of the Arts for acting and graduated with honors in 2017. I love working with children and inspiring them to think outside the box and create their own fun as I did when I was a child.

My first childcare experience in New York began in 2015 during my second year of college as a date-night sitter when an acting teacher recommended me to a family that her child went to school with. Up until the pandemic, I had babysat for two amazing boys, now ages 7 and 11, every Saturday night and occasional weekends in the summer at their Hamptons home. A typical night with this family included playtime, preparing dinner, helping the boys bathe or shower, and putting them down to sleep.
I also have experience caring for a sweet 11-month-old boy as a mother's helper on weekday mornings. Depending on what his mom's schedule was, I'd arrive early in the morning and we'd play with his toys and listen to music between meals, naps, and diaper changes.
Most recently I was a full-time sitter for a wonderful 10-year-old girl. I'd pick her up after school each day and either take the bus or walk back home. Then, she'd have a snack and we'd play games, create and act and edit our own original movies, go on field trips to museums, or facilitate playdates.

These days, my primary passion is drag performance art, so creativity, honesty, and self-expression are important values of mine in every aspect of my life. I love to lead children in activities that can allow their creativity to flourish. I always strive to offer a safe and supportive environment for children that lets them feel at ease to be themselves, have fun, and share lots of laughs!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Biking through Prospect Park, playing tennis, embroidering, creating mixed-media collages, and dreaming up my Halloween costume. And, when not in a pandemic, my days off are spent either with close friends, visiting museums or going to the movies to find inspiration for my drag performances!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working consistently as a drag performer and a childcare provider both in New York and in Europe!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to play with arts and crafts, go on field trips, encourage children to share, communicate how they're feeling and use their imaginations to create their own games.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.