How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Amanda K.

Education

University of the Arts,
Bachelors in Dance

Childcare Experience

Part-time babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/13 - 10/20
Two boys, ages 8 and 3

Part-time babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 07/18 - 10/20
Two children, girl-5 and boy-3

Occasional babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 11/13 - 10/20
One child Age 8

Professional Experience

Social Media Coordinator
New York, NY, 07/20 - 10/20

Dancer
New York, NY, 05/13 - 10/20

About me

Hailing from Southern Maryland, I have a fondness for rural life. But quickly after high school I transported to Philadelphia to pursue a degree in dance performance. I grew up dancing at a local dance studio and felt from an early age it was a dream I needed to chase. Since graduating I’ve had the privelage to consistently work as a freelance dance performer. However, 2016 marked a significant shift in my career when I joined the Trisha Brown Dance Company. Previously my income was supporting by the freelance work and babysitting. But the company position provided me a full time job. It remained important for me to continue my relationships with the families I was babysitting. I greatly enjoyed watching these children grow and change over the years, so while I was achieving my dreams I also was attached to these children. Through dance I’ve been able to engage with the vast, unending imaginations children have. It’s allowed me also to find creative activities and solutions for children of all ages.

My experience ranges from 3 month old infants to 8 year old children. One family in particular I’ve been sitting for them since their son was 1.5 years old and he’s now 8. My responsibilities there began with changin diapers, putting down for naps, take for stroller walks, make meals, etc. As he’s gotten older and more independent, I’ve dropped him off and picked him up from school. Similarly with other families, I’ve been responsible for school pick up and drop offs, using the public transit system, and caring for children while out of town.

It’s really important for me to be in tune with the child’s routine and follow their lead. I love watching a child explore through play and providing supportive and safe care for that exploration.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

In rehearsals and performing with the Trisha Brown Dance Company.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Raising a family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Exploring nature, dance skills, knitting.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.