How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jackie T.

Education

The University of Vermont,
B.S. in Human Development and Family Studies

Smith College,
pursuing an M.S.W

Childcare Experience

As Needed Babysitter
Burlington, VT, 04/19 - 01/20
One boy, 2 years

Camp Counselor
Bronx, NY, 06/15 - 07/16
children ages 4-11

Professional Experience

Barista
South Burlington, VT, 09/19 - 08/20

Supervised Visitation Monitor
St. Albans, VT, 09/19 - 04/20

About me

I grew up right outside New York City in Westchester, with my older sister and family guinea pig! I took a year off after high school and spent half of it in the backcountry of Mexico and the other half volunteering at a nursery school in Tel Aviv. I went to The University of Vermont and got my Bachelor of Science in Human Development and Family Studies concentrating in gender and sexuality. After graduation I became a supervised visitation monitor at a domestic violence organization in a rural county in Vermont which allowed me to apply the theories, I learned in college to real life families.

I started babysitting in high school when I was about 16 and was mainly a date night sitter for families in my neighborhood. I then spent many summers teaching swimming skills and water safety at summer camps. The ages ranged from 3 to 12 years old. I am still a certified lifeguard! In college I was a swim instructor and lifeguard at the local YMCA and taught children ages 3-7 swim skills. During my senior year of college, I started babysitting for my figure skating coach’s son starting when he was about 9 months old. I was an as needed sitter for the family and my depended on what time of day I was looking after him. During the day I would play with him, give him snacks, take him to the park, feed him lunch, put him down for a nap. In the evening, I would go through his bed time routine including reading books, brushing teeth, and changing his diaper.

I have been involved in some kind of childcare for much of my life and intend to continue to work with families for the rest of my career. I have a unique background that allows me to connect with kids in a special way. My goal is to facilitate a fun atmosphere where kids can develop into socially just members of society, they are our future after all!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

watching a nature documentary, yoga, baking or thinking about the next yummy thing I am going to bake

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A licensed clinical social worker!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Swim skills, and yoga/mindfulness


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.