How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Madelin G.

Education

Marymount Manhattan College,
B.A. in International Studies

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, , 01/17 - 03/20
A 2-year-old girl & a 6-year-old boy

Overnight Weekend Babysitter
, , 04/13 - 03/20
A 3-year-old boy & a 6-year-old girl

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, , 12/14 - 11/18
One girl, 4 years old

Professional Experience

Coordinator
New York, NY, , 03/19 - Present

Real Estate Agent
New York, NY, , 10/19 - 03/20

About me

I grew up on a beautiful island in the Caribbean, the Dominican Republic. When I was a child, I enjoyed biking around our town with my older sister. We also enjoy playing "street" games with our friends. In the spring of 2019, I graduated from Marymount Manhattan College with a BA in International Studies. Since then, I have worked as the partner program coordinator at the Third Street Music Settlement. Before COVID-19, I used to babysit from time to time in the evenings and on weekends.

I helped my mother raise my two younger brothers. When I was in high school, I started babysitting in the afternoons for a family near Chelsea, New York. Tasks included: I used to take the kids to play dates (ages six and four), help them with their Spanish homework, take them to the park and play with them while supervising, take the children to appointments, etc

Two years later, I found another family of two children (ages two and five), where I became their regular weekend babysitter. The duties were similar to those of the previous family I worked for, but in addition to those mentioned, I helped with light cleaning tasks such as putting away dishes, folding clothes, tidying up the kitchen and living room, taking out the trash, shopping for groceries, etc. After some time, I also became his nightly babysitter and stayed over for the weekends. During my seven years working for this family, I also took care of other children from other families from time to time. Also, whenever a babysitter from any of these families was no longer working for them, I was available to babysit for longer hours and help out when needed.

I am the family member who is always with the children at family gatherings. My mother tells me "you have sweet blood for children" (children always like you). I am also an aunt of three children (a newborn, a three-year-old boy, and a six-year-old girl). My care for children is summed up in this thought: the way I treat a child is the way I treat his generation. Any child that I had the opportunity to care for, I can humbly say that from the way I have treated them, they always carry a little bit of "me" with them.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers

I will be SmartSitting while...

• Biking • Reading a good book • Learning about the real estate market in NYC

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years, I hope to work in a legal profession. I hope I have finished (or almost finished) law school. I also see myself making investments and traveling more!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

• Spontaneous story telling • Teach them the Spanish language • Safe childhood games (in the park/home) ◦ games with the jump rope ◦ the game of the chair ◦ the handkerchief ◦ hopscotch ("yun")


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.