How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Devin B.

Education

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
B.S. Media Studies, minoring in Cinema

Atlantic Theater School, Professional Conservatory,

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 07/18 - 10/20
One boy, newborn-current

Nanny
New York, NY, 02/16 - 10/20
One boy age 5 and two girls, ages 4 and 18 months

Part-Time Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/15 - 02/16
One girl, age 3

Mother's Helper / Part-Time Babysitter
Chicago, IL, 08/13 - 02/15
Twin boys, newborns

Professional Experience

Improv and Sketch Comedy Instructor
Brooklyn, NY, 05/15 - 10/20

Actor
New York, NY, 09/15 - 10/20

Senior International Program Consultant
Chicago, IL, 09/10 - 04/15

About me

Greetings, my name is Devin, and in addition to working in childcare I am an actress, comedian and kid at heart! While many of my creative pursuits nourish that spirit, finding a passion for childcare has been a profound discovery that has deeply enriched my life.

I have worked with a number of families during my time in New York, with ages ranging from newborns to elementary schoolers. These roles have varied from part-time to full-time, working independently, alongside a parent as a Mother’s Helper, and as part of a team with a co-nanny.

My responsibilities in these roles have included navigating the first-year milestones of bottle feeding, transitioning to solid foods, crawling, and more; Fostering language development through verbal engagement, singing, and reading; Providing support in physical development, taking walks, exploring playgrounds and dancing; and the potty training process. I also have experience monitoring food allergies and practicing the Montessori method.

My background in the arts has had a huge impact on my work with kids. Improv and acting in particular depend on being present in the moment and being a strong listener. As a result, I have developed great communication skills with babies and small children. I believe all people need to feel heard, but young children especially need this gift from adults. For them, each day is a chance to discover something new about the world and themselves. For me, showing genuine interest and encouragement in these moments can have a tremendous impact on their self-esteem and confidence. This also builds trust and a sense of safety- Ensuring a child’s safety is my number one priority, on both a physical and emotional level. In addition to having proper training for emergency situations, I believe it’s essential to earn a child’s respect, trust, and friendship to best carry out the responsibilities in their care.

I have never had another job in which I felt the certainty that each day was spent making a real impact, and I am so grateful to have discovered this passion for working with children. My experiences have taught me a reverence for the daily joys and discoveries that occur in this work, and I strive to meet those moments with my whole self.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

I spend most of my free time performing, and teaching comedy. I teach level two improv at the Brooklyn Comedy Collective on the weekend and greatly enjoy sharing the magic of improv with others. Whenever possible, I also enjoy seeing live shows of all kinds. One of my favorite things about New York is the abundance of live performance. From Broadway to black box theater, I will never tire of the excitement of going out to a show. I also, of course, love spending time with my friends and family. I am very fortunate to have two of my brothers in Brooklyn, and I live with two of my best friends and their two year old son! When they were expecting, they asked if I would be willing to move in as they embarked on their journey into parenthood. Two years later, we are still having a great time as a unique mix-and-match household, a joy that is so uniquely New York!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years I hope to be a more regularly working actor. While it would be very cool to land a big role as a series regular, or have my own comedy show- but my simple goal is to have performing professionally in my life. I’m very content to build a humble resume as long as I always give it my all. I would also like to have my own children someday, but my partner and I don’t have any plans for the near future.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I was a bit of a renaissance kid growing up, and I wanted to try A LOT of different things. My parents were very supportive, and over the years I tried my hand at ballet, jazz, tap, baton, piano, violin, ice skating, basketball, gymnastics, soccer, tee-ball, swimming and tennis. While I wouldn’t call myself an expert in any of these areas, I’m willing and able to be an enthusiastic participant. My most dedicated physical activity as a child was Irish dancing. I performed for ten years and did a bit of teaching as a teenager. But at every stage of my life I've had a passion for arts and crafts of all kinds. I have experience with most art activities from paper mache, origami, painting, drawing, sculpture, jewelry making, scrapbooking, crochet, digital art, and more. If there's a craft to do, I'm game! In addition, I spent summers on the swim team, and am comfortable doing basic swimming lessons or adult assisted swimming lessons. I also have a decent proficiency in French and would be comfortable with light tutoring at a basic level. And finally, I am an expert improviser and teach improvisational comedy to adults at the Brooklyn Comedy Collective. In my years teaching, I have worked with a wide age range from elementary school students to senior citizens.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.