How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Shea S.

Education

High School,

College,
2 year

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
Sandy, UT, , 04/17 - 04/19
Two boys and one girl, ages 4 months, 1 and 3

Au Pair
Spain, , 01/17 - 04/17
Three girls, ages 9 months, 3 and 6

Professional Experience

Digital Customer Service
Draper, UT, , 10/14 - 09/20

QA for Culinary Water
Salt Lake City, UT, , 04/19 - 09/20

About me

I grew up in Salt Lake City, Utah and was lucky enough to always be surrounded with exciting new adventures. Salt Lake is surrounded by mountains so I used to go snowboarding every Sunday with my family up until the year I broke my wrist! I also played lacrosse, cheered, danced, competitively through my entire childhood. Besides constantly being involved in sports, I loved any adventure I could find outside. This included hunting for tadpoles in the creek behind my house, riding my bike for hours with my friends, coming up with new "sports" to play with the neighborhood kids or forcing my friends into a play. My love for adventure is something that has extended through to adulthood as well! I think my love for adventure is what has really made me fall in love with childcare. Kids are always so carefree and imaginative!

I spent my free time in high school working as a lifeguard, which is where I became CPR certified. I also had a family I would babysit for which had one child, I started when he was 8 and babysat for them until I graduated and he turned 10. We spent most of our days riding bikes, playing with legos and going to the park to kick a soccer ball around. After high school, I started college and got another job working in online customer service so unfortunately I did not have much time to babysit in my free time. When I turned 21 I decided I needed a change in my life and was missing childcare so I decided to move to Spain to become an Au Pair for 4 months. I had studied Spanish in school for 6 years before that point, and after my time in Spain, I left with proficient fluency. Deciding to move to Spain was the best decision I have made in my life so far! I consider them to be my second family, and my home away from "home". I was a live in au pair and spent my time teaching english to their 3 little girls ages 9 months, 3 years and 6 years. I also spent my time with their other close relatives family teaching english to their two girls ages 4 and 7. I would prepare fun age appropriate activities to engage them in their learning, as well as keep them entertained! We would go outside and look for rocks, play hula hoop and kick the ball around.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

cooking, spending time with my family and friends and attending concerts and drag shows! I also have been very in to netflix and sling shows lately since a lot of my normal free time activities are not an option because of COVID. I love learning new things so I have been looking into rug making lately!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

happy and loving what I am doing with my life. I am not 100% sure where I will end up but I hope I am successful and constantly challenging myself.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love teaching and helping with the progression of language skills! Children are little sponges and pick up everything so quickly. I also enjoy teaching them new things that their parents might not engage them in. For example, new crafts! Or maybe teaching them about new creative outlets like spending time coming up with play ideas to then present to their parents later in the week. I try to cater everything to what the child is interested in and go from there!


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.