How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Esosa I.

Education

University of Benin,
B.S. in Marketing

St. John’s University,
M.A. in Psychology

Childcare Experience

Educator Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 06/20 - Present
4 and 7

Pod Teacher / Nanny
New York, NY, 10/20 - 10/20
9

Infant Instructor / Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/18 - 03/19
1 year

Educator / House Manger
New York, New York, 01/17 - 05/18
11 and 14

NGA Intermediary
Benin, Nigeria, , 12/14 - 01/17
ages 7-15

Educator / Family Assistant
New York, New York, 09/12 - 12/14
2,4,5, and 7

Professional Experience

NGA Intermediary
Benin City, Nigeria, , 12/14 - 01/17

About me

Hello, my name is Esosa, I’m the oldest of three, and I grew up in Upstate New York. I enjoy art, reading, writing, the outdoors, nature, tennis, rock-climbing, and anything that gets me out having fun and laughing. Growing up, my family and I split our time between New York and Nigeria. When not in Nigeria, I lived life traveling all over the world. Before entering my teens, I had been to well over 20 countries. It is this that has shaped my world view, one in which I value empathy, altruism, and compassion.

My undergraduate degree is in marketing, but after working with special-needs children in college, I began studying Applied Behavioral Analysis. That interest reshaped my educational path, leading me to focus on Psychology and Behavior modification.
Continuing in this realm, I am also a Registered Behavior Technician and youth productivity consultant. You can learn more about me and what this entails at www.organizingintherealworld.com. Essentially, I work with a variety of children, assess their behavior, and give them the appropriate tools to make long-lasting, positive changes in a fun, positive environment.

I’ve worked with children of all ages from 6 months to teens. When caring for infants, I use my ASL background to teach non-modified baby ASL, through immersive techniques, incorporating instructional play, music, song, and dance. I utilize the Montessori method to encourage language, fine-, and gross motor skills through imitation, use of command directives, interactive reading, sensory activities, and play that primarily utilizing common, everyday items to better-encourage exploration and imagination.

When working with the older set, I continually modify my approach to best complement all ages and meet them at their maturity levels with age-appropriate communication, activities, and play. I seek to foster healthy emotional habits that equip them with valuable tools to effectively ascend from childhood to adult.

After over 10 years working primarily with children (both in the US and across the globe) as a teacher, tutor, nanny, house manager, assistant, and behaviorist; I’ve come to realize this field is my one, true calling.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Truthfully, I’m usually watching Netflix. I appreciate that we are finally at a place where more people are given the opportunity to share their unique stories on a mainstream platform. But when I'm feeling more productive, I'm usually studying, reading, sketching (I mainly do graphite portraits), gardening (I have a miniature vegetable/herb garden in my kitchen that I'm struggling to keep alive), cooking (I love to cook), and writing (I'm in the process of writing a book). In these uncertain times, I don't go out much anymore; thus, most of my time is spent indoors attempting to keep myself busy.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Well, I’d like to be working with children, particularly, those with various special needs. I've developed a love for teaching valuable life skills, leading me to pursue my master’s in Psychology with the intention of becoming a BCAB. I’m hoping to one day use my skills and acquired knowledge to develop my own form of behavior modification that is customizable to each individual and takes into consideration a diverse set of characteristics. I’d like to primarily focus on the mental health sector amongst underserved and disenfranchised people.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Oh, so many! Arts: Drawing, Crafts, Theater, Dance, and Yoga Sign Language: Standard ASL and Baby Sign Language Behavior Modification: Increase in language and communication skills Improvement in attention, focus, social skills, memory, and academics A decrease in problem behaviors Development of organization skills Fun activities that encourage creativity and aid in mental, physical, and emotional development.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.