How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Marissa R.

Education

California State University, Chico,
B.A. in Child Development
Minor in Special Education

Childcare Experience

Nanny/babysitter
Mill Valley, CA, 06/17 - 07/18
Two girl and one boy, ages 2, 8, and 10

Nanny/babysitter
San Francisco, CA, 11/13 - 11/15
One boy and one girl, ages 3 and 7

Nanny/babysitter
San Francisco, CA, 02/13 - 03/15
Two girls and one boy, ages 3, 10, and 13

Professional Experience

Teacher
San Francisco, CA, 08/19 - 10/20

Para-educator
San Rafael, CA, 06/16 - 07/19

Server
San Francisco, CA, 05/17 - 08/17

Server
San Francisco, CA, 05/14 - 08/14

About me

My name is Marissa Ryan. I was born and raised by my parents in San Francisco, CA with my older sister. Growing up I was involved in Musical Theatre productions, dance classes and recitals, and many sports. I received a BA in Child Development and minored in Special Education at California State University, Chico After college I moved back to San Francisco and began working as a full time teacher at Bright Horizons pre-school!

As a babysitter/nanny I mostly worked for three families consistently starting in 2013. One family had two children ages 3-7 years old, one with special needs. Another family had 3 children, ages 3 - 12. The last family also have 3 children ages 2 - 13. For these family I would help with a large variety of tasks including basic routines and needs, homework, physical training for soccer, driving to activities, household needs such as laundry, food shopping, and cooking, and extended stays during family vacations. As a para-educator I worked with ages 2 - 22 year olds with a variety of special needs. My responsibilities included curriculum planning, behavior intervention and tracking, attending to daily needs such as feeding and changing diapers, training in medical needs such as diastat, epipens, and feeding tubes. I am also CPR certified.
As a pre-school teacher I have worked with ages 2-5. My responsibilities include curriculum planning, weekly news letters for parents, communication with parents, teacher and curriculum meetings, team meetings with co-teachers, and trainings. I utilized my 3 years of ASL for all of these jobs.

My teaching style is reflective of the Montessori Method, as I feel it allows for an innovative and equitable environment. Every child learns and develops at their own pace. I truly believe that allowing students to lead their growth by developing their own interests will significantly allow them to embrace their desire to learn.

Through out my whole life I have always been very people oriented and knew that my passion was to help others in need. I found that being around young minds always brightened my day and put a smile on my face.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting I am working at my pre-school. After work I like to go to the gym or go on a run in my neighborhood. I enjoy cooking dinner for my family and friends and love trying new recipes. I also love to bake, but I try not to bake too much as I also love to eat baked good. I like to hang out with my friends when I can and go to parks for relaxing day time picnics. Most places I go to around the city I walk to and enjoy all that San Francisco has to offer. During vacations I love to travel! Traveling to new cities all around the world is one of my absolute favorite things to do! I love learning about the history, culture, and fashion of each city, state, or country I am visiting.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I hope to have opened my own preschool/childcare establishment. My school will be inclusive to all students; both typical children and those with special needs.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Activities and skills I love to teach and share with my children include outdoor experiences, such as sports, hikes, and playing in natural environment like parks and beaches. Arts and crafts I believe are important for teaching expression, encouraging creativity, and developing fine motor skills. I love to read and tell stories to children to help develop literacy, comprehension, and imagination. Singing and dancing is a great way to express how we feels and provides a creative outlet that will help with regulation skills. I also love to encourage mind-body awareness and social-emotional learning by using mindful movement, breathing techniques, and learning healthy communication skills.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.