How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kelsey M.

Education

Wayne State University,
B.A. in Psychology
Co Major: Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

Childcare Experience

Full Time Nanny
Detroit/Ann Arbor, MI, 05/20 - 10/20
One girl, 11 months

Part Time Nanny
Detroit, MI, 10/18 - 01/20
Two, Boy 2 months and Girl 3 years

Part Time Nanny
Detroit, MI, 04/16 - 01/20
Three Boys, 7 months, 2, and 5. Newborn (2018)

Part Time Nanny
Detroit, MI, 11/16 - 09/18
Boy, 3 months

Professional Babysitter
Allen Park, MI, 06/05 - 12/14
Three girls, 2 years , 1 years, newborn(2008)

Professional Experience

Behavior Technician
Detroit, MI, MI, 06/14 - 11/16

About me

I grew up in a small town in Michigan as the youngest of four children. My favorite memories are the many times we went camping together as a family. We spent a lot of time outdoors exploring nature, hiking, and playing sports. I went to Wayne State University and graduated with a Bachelor's of Arts in Psychology. After college, I worked as a Behavior Technician, providing one on one therapy to children diagnosed with Autism. I also was a nanny part time, eventually turning it into my full time career.
   
I took my first babysitting course when I was thirteen years old and became a mother’s helper to a family of six. I enjoyed spending time with the family, caring for their children, and traveling with them during sports tournaments. I was also consistently date night babysitting throughout college. In the past four years, I was a part time nanny for a family of four; 7 months, 2 years, 5 years, and a newborn in 2018. I had additional part time families throughout those four years with children aged 2 months to 3 years. I have experience with bottle feeding and transitioning to formula, milk, baby food, and solid foods with infants. I also have experience in preparing healthy meals and snacks for toddlers and school-aged children. I was in charge of school drop offs/pickups, doctor appointments, planning activities and arranging playdates. In addition, I was responsible for ensuring bedtime routines ran smoothly by bathing, reading, and providing comfort to infants, toddlers, and older children. Other responsibilities I held were to perform housekeeping and cleaning duties related to the children. Some of my favorite things I have done as a nanny include baking in the kitchen and using our imagination. I also enjoy taking the children out to parks, beaches, museums, libraries, and other various activities in the city.
   
It has been such an enjoyable experience to watch and help these children grow and develop to their fullest potential. In my previous positions I have been a self-starter, organized, and patient as I am in my personal life as well. I strive to be a trustworthy member of the family with open and honest communication.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)

I will be SmartSitting while...

Enjoying outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, kayaking/canoeing, and swimming. As well as playing tennis, soccer, and softball. I also really enjoy baking and cooking. I recently started practicing the ukulele and yoga. Other interests I have are child development, newborn care, and relationship counseling. I am always looking into courses and training to further my education.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Despite the turbulence of the last few months, I still strive for my best future both professionally and personally. For the next 3-4 years, I plan to be the best, committed nanny to a family I fit seamlessly into. In my free time, I will make sure to continue growing my knowledge about childcare and child development. After all my nanny experience, I plan to become a Newborn Care Specialist. While I love my career as a nanny, I believe in the importance of helping new mothers in their transition to motherhood. Personally, I value cultural experiences, continuous growth, and overall happiness. I hope to travel more, learn new skills, and ensure the well being of myself and those around me. I want to continue helping people and be a positive force in this world. When the time is right and my career allows it, I would like to one day have my own family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love being in the kitchen with children. Baking and cooking is a great activity to learn along the way. Measuring, scooping, pouring, mixing are all great skills for children to work on. I also love working on arts and crafts with children. Painting, bracelet making, weaving, instruments, and science projects are all fun activities I enjoy sharing with children.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.