How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Shannen E.

Education

Brooklyn school for collaborative studies,
High school diploma

Borough of manhattan community college,
Some college, incomplete

Childcare Experience

Part-Time AM/PM Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 06/19 - 06/20
Boy, 2 years old

Full-time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 06/19 - 03/20
Girl, 4 months

After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 09/16 - 06/19
Brother and sister, ages 6 and 9

Part-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 02/17 - 12/17
Girl, 6 months

Full-Time Nanny/Mother’s Helper
Brooklyn, NY, 10/14 - 08/16
Twin girls, 2 months old

Professional Experience

Hudson Guild (After-School Childcare)
Manhattan, NY, 09/13 - 04/14

Childcare Provider (Parent Teacher Conferences)
Brooklyn, NY, 10/12 - 05/13

About me

I was born on the beautiful island of Barbados, where my grandma raised my little sister and I. I enjoy singing/writing poems and songs. My sister and I moved to NY to be with our mother in 2011, and I completed my last year of high school here. I attended The Borough of Manhattan Community College, where I studied human services, and started an internship at the Hudson Guild Children’s Center. I worked in their after school program, and also taught self defense at the Center for Anti-Violence Education.
   
From a young age, I’ve always had caretaker tendencies, and this made me become very protective of younger ones. My most recent job was full-time, and it started when she was 4 months, and ended when she was 14 months. Our day consisted of play, reading, motor skill activities, nature walks, cuddles, and music. I would also prepare her bottles/food, and give baths. During this time I also worked with a 2-year-old boy. This position required me to collect him from daycare, give him dinner, have playtime and put him to bed. I’d also go in the morning to get him ready for daycare. Before that, I took care of a 6-year-old girl with a developmental disability, and watched her 9-year-old brother on occasion. I worked with that family for about three years. I would pick her up from the bus, do arts and craft projects, puzzles, baking, phonics activities, you name it. I’d also take her to therapy sessions, and learned various techniques to calm her down during tantrums. Before that, I worked alongside a new mom and served as another set of hands, helping out with twin girls. I made sure they were happy, fed, stimulated, and helped with sleep schedules, amongst other things.
   
All in all, I’ve found that working with kids genuinely makes me happy. It has taught me a lot of patience, and how the littlest things have the power of making you the happiest. My favorite part about working with kids is not only forming lasting bonds, but being able to watch them grow, teaching them, and giving them nothing but love, and good memories. It makes me happy to get photos from family’s, or to receive calls, even when I no longer work with them. That truly brings me joy!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I’m not babysitting I’m usually working on my music, hanging out with friends, or exercising.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years I would love to have my own little daycare. And hopefully be getting royalties for my music.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Activities I love to teach and share with children are cooking/baking, self expression through arts, reading, and the importance of being kind.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.