How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Ella H.

Education

Fordham University,
B.A. in Theatre Performance

Fordham University,
B.A. in Theatre Performance

Childcare Experience

Part-time nanny
New York City, NY, 08/18 - Present
Boy and girl, ages 7 and 5

Part & full time Nanny
New York City, NY, 02/19 - 03/20
One girl, age 12

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/19 - 02/20
Boy and girl, ages 6 and 2

Professional Experience

Private tutor
New York, NY, 02/18 - 03/20

Caterer
New York City, NY, 12/19 - 02/20

Box Office Staff Member
New York, NY, 01/19 - 01/20

About me

I was born in Chicago and grew up on the North side of the city. I'm the oldest of four girls, so I was given a fair share of responsibility in helping to raise my three younger sisters. I absolutely loved being the oldest as a child and found all sorts of ways to keep my younger sisters safe and entertained. This past spring I graduated from Fordham University, Lincoln Center, with a BA in Theatre Performance. During this unprecedented and potentially frightening time I have found that working as a nanny has brought me joy and has allowed me to continue to make a positive impact on those around me. My training as an actor taught me to be flexible, responsible and above all, creative. I have found that my education blends in seamlessly with the field of child care. Additionally, my education was in Jesuit tradition, meaning I have taken courses in the sciences, math, philosophy, foreign language and more during my time at Fordham.
   
I have two years of experience tutoring privately, and over eight years of nannying experience. I have been a nanny in New York City since I moved here four years ago, and prior to that I was a nanny and babysitter in the greater Chicago area for approximately four years. Most of my families range from ages 2-14, but I also have worked with children as young as 8 months. I can help with English, Math, Science, Spanish, Music, Art and even the Cyrillic alphabet! I am passionate about helping your child develop a rewarding relationship with education as well as instilling a strong work ethic.
   
When it comes to nannying and babysitting, I have loads of experience picking up kids from school and taking them to various activities, as well as lots of time spent at home. During many summers I have worked as a full time nanny and babysitter for families. I have also worked part time for multiple families as a nanny during the school year. My favorite activities include arts and crafts, trips to the park, playing with toys, and collaborative board games. I love working with kids because I am continually surprised by their ingenuity, creativity and astonishment at so many things adults take for granted.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

During this time I have prioritized the health and safety of myself and those around me. I have found it crucial to find a way to get outside every day. When I'm not reading a new script, screenplay or novel I'm working on my own. I also enjoy playing the piano, violin, and have recently decided to pick up the accordion!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I would love to be a professional working actor in five years. When Covid comes to an end I would be absolutely thrilled to sign with representation and advance my career.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to teach children how to make paper birds or other small items out of various arts and craft material. The kids I have taken care of love to make friendship bracelets with me, play collaborative boardgames, learn how to hopscotch or make up our own silly games.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.