How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kara S.

Education

Colgate University,
B.A. in History

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Nanny
Breckenridge, CO, 11/20 - 11/20
1 girl, age 2.5

Ski-Vacation Babysitter
Breckenridge, CO, 01/20 - 01/20
1 girl, age 2

Ski Vacation Nanny-Share
Breckenridge, CO, 01/19 - 01/19
Two families: 6-month old baby and 9 month-old bab

Part-Time Nanny for 2 Kids
Denver, CO, 07/18 - 08/18
Girl age 2, boy age 9

Summer Babysitter
Summit, NJ, 06/15 - 08/16
Twin boys, age 5

After-School and Weekend Babysitter
Chatham, NJ, 01/12 - 07/16
2 boys (age 9), 4 girls (age 7, 6, 2 and newborn)

Professional Experience

Concierge and Administrative Assistant
Breckenridge, CO, 06/20 - 11/20

Corporate Communications Intern
New York, NY, 06/19 - 08/19

Part-Time Intern at Denver Art Museum
Denver, CO, 06/18 - 08/18

Hostess & Server
Denver, CO, 05/17 - 08/18

Swim Instructor
Summit, NJ, 01/13 - 05/16

Field Hockey Instructor & Counselor (Get It Dunne)
Summit, NJ, 03/14 - 06/15

Tutor and Assistant (Kumon)
Berkeley Heights, NJ, 09/14 - 12/14

About me

My name is Kara Schindler and I’m a 22-year-old recent graduate of Colgate University. I majored in history and also studied English and Creative Writing. I have been babysitting and nannying for almost 10 years now and am hoping to pursue childcare in a more permanent and consistent capacity, and am considering going back to school to pursue Early Education. Amid all the instability of graduating from college during the height of the global pandemic, I have found that my passion for working with children and their families has remained incredibly strong and important to me. I have always known that my greatest strength is my ability to interact and engage with people of all ages, backgrounds, and needs. I have worked in professional settings, both offices and customer service jobs, but no occupation has ever brought me as much joy and fulfillment as working directly and personally with kids, learning from them, watching them grow, and getting the opportunity to be a part of their lives. As a responsible and well-mannered young adult, I find that connecting with families not only brings me a great deal of joy, but also has allowed me to harness my creativity, interpersonal skills, and communication abilities to their fullest potential.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins

I will be SmartSitting while...

Reading, writing, facetiming with friends, or going on long walks in Central Park

In 5 years, I hope to be...

A professional nanny, working for a Nannying Agency, or working in Early Education

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

It depends on the age group of course, but I love doing arts and crafts with kids and playing with them outside. Both of these activities are so simple and familiar but I find that they really spark the child's imagination and bring them out of their shell. Regarding crafts, I've always been a very creative person (although never much of an artist) and appreciate the way drawing and coloring soothe the mind and can have a really calming effect while also sparking inner excitement and creativity. Regarding the outdoors, I have always been a very active person (I did almost every sport growing up) and have developed an appreciation for the healing element of the outdoors. Being physically active and getting fresh air is something that children need just as badly as adults do, and I think it's important and rewarding to instill children with an appreciation for their surroundings.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.