How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Alexis S.

Education

DuPont Manual High School,
Diploma

The University of Evansville,
B.F.A. Theatre Performance

Childcare Experience

Recurring Part Time Nanny
Los Angeles, California, 08/19 - 08/20
One girl age 12 one boy age 14

Daycare Dropoff/ After School Sitter
Louisville, Kentucky, 01/18 - 01/19
One child, age 4

Part Time Babysitter
Louisville, Kentucky, 12/17 - 12/18
One child, age 1

Professional Experience

Banker
Los Angeles, California, 01/19 - 08/20

Personal Banker
Louisville, Kentucky, 05/18 - 12/19

Starbucks Barista
Louisville, Kentucky, 05/15 - 05/17

About me

If you’ve heard of the Kentucky Derby then you know a little about my hometown of Louisville, Kentucky. Aside from horses, Louisville is also a hub for artists, creatives, and those with imaginations soaring beyond the stars. I fall into each category, thus, my background is in theatre. I attended performing arts schools from middle school through college, but did find myself taking interest in traveling and language. As a result, I studied abroad throughout high school and college, living in both England and France. After college I signed with an agent and moved to Los Angeles. It was in LA that I was able to find community in another way- nannying.
   
I grew up raising my sister and younger cousins so family has always been very important to me. The saying “it takes a village,” proved itself to be true in my life, but also the lives of those I’ve cared for. My first couple of experiences caring for children not in my family were with younger children , ages 1 and 4. In both cases, I was a part-time recurring nanny, sometimes a date night nanny, and more infrequently I did some overnight jobs. I worked with the one-year-old until he was two. I performed many tasks of care such as both bottle feeding and solid foods, bathing, sensory games, and bedtime duties. My caregiving tasks were similar for the four-year-old, but we had more rigorous and stimulating activities. In LA however, I worked with older children, ages 12 and 14. Much of my work was pickup and drop off, homework assistance, and providing a sense of mentorship. I also did the most important task to a teenager- meal and snack preparation. I pride myself in being versatile enough to work with all ages because I focus on individuals and their needs rather than generalities.
   
I believe that foundation can be built of many things, but a good foundation provides structure and the ability to grow. Nannying and caring for children is my foundation. It’s crucial that adolescents make and maintain healthy relationships. I seek to be just one small part of the foundation you’re building with your children and family.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Travelling, spending time with family, and learning how to cook. More recently, traveling and family time isn’t an option. As a result, I adopted a dog and he gets lots of love and attention.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Finished with my master’s degree and providing mental health services to those in need.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to open up minds and imaginations. I will share my love for literature and the arts. I love teaching children that there can be many ways to create and problem solve.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.