How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Meagan O.

Education

Arizona State University,
B.A. in Anthropology

Childcare Experience

Nanny/House Manager
Harrison, New York, 01/19 - 09/20
Two boys, 12 and 14.

Part-time Babysitter
Rye, NY, 03/19 - 03/20
Boy and girl, ages 2 and 5

Nanny
Orpington, UK, 08/16 - 01/17
One boy, age 2

Play Attendant
Los Angeles, California, 08/15 - 07/16
Numerous children, ages 1-8

Professional Experience

Tutor
Los Angeles, CA, 02/16 - 07/16

About me

I grew up in Michigan, the youngest of 6 children. My brothers were quite a bit older than me so I spent most of the time with my sister. When I was young, I loved exploring outside. Michigan is a lovely environment, you get the best of the seasons. I wanted to grow up to be a chef, and while that goal changed I still love cooking today. This year, I graduated with my Bachelor's in Anthropology from Arizona State University; I have always been interested in human behavior and evolution. I think my studies help me relate to all people, not just children.
I moved to New York in January 2019 to work with a family with two boys. They were 10 and 13 when I started. Because they were older, it was a lot of driving to activities and homework help for the kids. I also did house management tasks for the parents like researching repair companies or talking to vendors for parties. During this time, I also worked with a family nearby with a 1 and 4-year-old. That was more play and active time. I made many meals and snacks for both families! Before that, I was in Los Angeles and started work with children at a place called Giggles N Hugs. It's very high energy activities and a great place for kids to socialize. I was always leading dance parties or group crafts. Also, during my time in LA, I tutored children experiencing homelessness with a program called School on Wheels. When I left LA, I was in the UK briefly and nannied for about 5 months for a 2-year-old boy. He was nonstop energy and we'd go to the park or the train station (he was fascinated by trains) everyday. Then I had to say goodbye to him and his family when I came back to the U.S. I have infant and adult CPR certification.
I love working with children because they're generally honest with their concerns and emotions. Watching them develop new knowledge and skills each day is a wonderful thing to do. In my free time I enjoy traveling, hiking, reading, live jazz, puzzles, and exercise. I try to share these interests with the kids I work with, they're usually interested in a good book or walk in the park.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

During COVID times? Going to the park, jogging, reading, or cooking at home.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working in social research for a nonprofit, traveling again, and maybe with a child of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I enjoy teaching reading, writing, and cooking. I like science projects and sharing my love of the outdoors.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.