How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Khiry S.

Education

Marshall University,
BFA Theatre Performance

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/17 - 12/20
7 year old and 10 year old

Full-Time Babysitter
Charleston, West Virginia, 08/16 - 05/17
13 months and 3 year old

Professional Experience

Children's Theatre Performer
Richmond, VA, 12/15 - 07/17

About me

I am a natural care-giver at heart. I love to be of service. Growing up, my mother used to run an daycare during the summer at our home. She took the time to learn how to respect each child as an individual. every child left our home feeling safe and excited to return. I pride myself on bringing that same energy to each family I work with.
My first independent experience with childcare came a bit later when I was in high school. I had an elective called Eagle's Nest. In this program I would curate activities for children ages 6-13 to participate in. The activities would be specific to age range and cover a host of topics from anti-bullying campaigns to extremely fun holiday crafts.
My focus of study at university was Theatre Performance. I received my Bachelor in Fine Arts from Marshall University. When I began working professionally, I was introduced to the magical world of children’s theatre and teaching through theatre. It completely changed my outlook and revealed extended purpose to my passion of performance. When I accepted a position with Virginia Repertory Theatre, I fell in love with the out-pouring of curiosity and genuine joy from the students. My cast members and myself would curate interactive activities that would occur before and after shows to explain the content in a fun and energetic way and to provoke thought and critical thinking about what they experienced.
When I moved to New York, I began working with families that needed sitter after school and during the summer. Most of the children I cared for ranged from 13 months to 10 years old. I have spent a lot of time assisting with homework, preparing lunches, going on fun and safe park visits, and playing a lot of make-believe. My main goal is to listen to the parents of the children I watch and to enforce their values. I also wish to carry on the tradition of my mother's daycare by making sure every child I am caring for feels seen, heard, and respected.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

writing music, caring for my plants, and researching info on dogs I'd like to rescue.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In five years i hope to be traveling and playing my music at festivals and different venues .

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to allow children time express themselves creatively. Making slime, coloring, and creative writing are some activities I have facilitated in the past.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.