How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Emily R.

Education

DePaul Unviersity,
Bachelors of Art, Psychology

Joliet West High School,
High School Diploma

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Chicago, IL, 05/18 - 12/20
Two boys, 10 and 13

Part-Time Sitter
Chicago, IL, 09/19 - 03/20
One girl, 13

After-School Sitter
Chicago, IL, 09/17 - 04/18
Two girls, 3 and 9

Summer Sitter
Plainfield, IL, 06/14 - 08/17
Two girls 5 and 9, one boy 3

Professional Experience

Sales Associate
Joliet, IL, 12/20 - 08/17

About me

I grew up in the Chicago suburb of Plainfield, and am the oldest of four, ages 18, 15, and 11. I grew up being responsible of them and often times took care of them while my parents worked. So you can say I've always been a care taker. As a child, I enjoyed playing sports such as volleyball and badminton, and was heavily involved in school activities such as school council, key club, and other service organizations. I also really enjoyed art, such as painting and drawing, and still do! I graduated from Joliet West High School in 2017, and am about to graduate with my bachelors in Psychology (child development concentration) from DePaul University. In my free time, I make jewelry (and have a small business associated with it!), enjoy spending time outdoors, and reading. All of these things tie in with my childcare experiences as I love to encourage children to pursue passions as well.

I have worked in childcare since I was about 10 years old, and often spent my weekends babysitting for the families in the neighborhood I grew up in. I developed long lasting connections with these families, most of which I still have today. The most recent position I have has been my longest, and have had it since I began my college journey three years ago. I have seen the 2 boys I cared for grow up into amazing little humans who enjoy sports and jokes galore. The family considers me a part of the family and vice versa. I have been privileged to support them at baseball games, cook them endless amounts of pasta and turkey sandwiches, and even care for their precious golden retriever Evee when they've been away.

Childcare has always been a passion of mine, and I hope to get my Masters in Social Work when I graduate so I can provide therapy to children. I have found that the most rewarding part of caring for children is to be able to see them grow and develop. I truly believe that children are the future, and that we should be doing all we can to support them so they can succeed. While I believe a child should have all the fun they can while they can, providing them with the tools and safety to grow is important not only for the parents to provide, but the caregiver as well.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Working on my jewelry business, spending time studying, or reading. I also enjoy spending time with my family and friends (when COVID eventually permits it again) and socializing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working as a children/adolescent therapist. I hope to get my Masters in Social Work and eventually be licensed as an LCSW! I hope that I can incorporate art therapy into my practice, and hope thats something that I can pioneer for others as well.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Responsibility has always been one of the most important skills I have stressed when in the childcare industry. I love being able to see how a child is able to adapt to situations and realize that they need to take responsibility in their lives, especially academically. It can be hard when children are young to truly grasp this concept, but even in small ways like picking up toys can demonstrate this. I love sharing my passion of art, specifically painting/drawing, with children as it helps them tap in to their more creative side, which is important to one's development.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.