How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Mary Jane D.

Education

Amda,
Associate

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Nyc, Ny, 01/17 - 12/19
1 and 5 year olds

Babysitter
Nyc, Ny, 01/14 - 12/16
Toddler

Babysitter
Nyc, Ny, 01/13 - 12/13
Infant

Professional Experience

Marketing and sales
Manhattan, Ny, 03/17 - 04/18

Actor
Nyc, 01/12, 12/20 - 12/-1

About me

I grew up in Westchester, NY, in Yonkers. I went to catholic school in my neighborhood from kindergarten until 8th grade, then I went to an all girls high school in Manhattan on the UES. I started doing theatre when I was 10 and spent most of my time at my local children’s theatre company. The director would hire me to care for the younger children in the cast, and some of the parents even hired me to babysit during their date night and work hours. I went to college for musical theatre and after college, I toured with a few musicals. Then, I worked in marketing and sales while also pursuing a film and tv career.
   
The children I have cared for have all left a lasting impression on me; they are each so special in their own way. I have cared for an autistic toddler, an infant, brothers, sisters, and mixed company. I always do light housework when the child’s needs are met to assist the families that much more. Cooking is second nature to me, and I always prepare food and snacks when they are hungry.
   
My favorite part about being a nanny is watching a child grow and learn. Some of my favorite memories include a baby’s first taste of a lemon (because it’s just so cute), when a baby starts to roll over on tummy time and starts getting stronger, teaching numbers to a toddler, and music time.
   
As far as discipline goes, I am all about positive reinforcement. It’s easy for children to get worked up and have “fits,” but I always remember that children are discovering the world for the first time, so a gentle approach tends to do the trick. I am an empathetic and understanding caregiver. Having fun and a positive experience is very important to create trusting bonds with families and the children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

With my dog, writing, watching movies, running, working out, cooking

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Financially comfortable and starting a family

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music, reading, physical activities, arts and crafts, painting, coloring, fashion and pop culture


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.