How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Milagros C.

Education

Marymount Manhattan College,
BA English and World Literature

Institute of Culinary Education,
Career Culinary Arts Degree

Childcare Experience

Date night and after school babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 09/18 - 03/20
1 year old boy, 2 year old girl, 5 year old girl

Part time babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 10/17 - 12/19
6 month old boy

After school Babysitter
Brooklyn, New York, 09/18 - 12/18
6 year old boy twins, 11 year old boy

Camp Counselor/ Culinary Instructor
Brooklyn, New York, 06/18 - 08/18
Camp, 15 kids per cooking classes, ages 3- 11

Professional Experience

Culinary Instructor, Afterschool Program
Brooklyn, New York, 01/19 - 04/20

Culinary Instructor, Middle School
Brooklyn, New York, 09/18 - 03/20

About me

My name is Milagros Cruz and I am a born and raised New Yorker. As a child I enjoyed reading, watching cooking shows, and helping my mom cook. I have one sibling who is 10 years older than me. For college, I decided to stay in New York and pursue a bachelors degree in English and World Lit and Journalism. I also have a culinary arts degree from The Institute of Culinary Education and since then have taught kids cooking classes.

My career since graduating college and getting a culinary degree ties into my love for child care and nannying because I’ve had the pleasure of teaching other kids how to cook. I’ve worked at summer camps throughout Brooklyn as well as after school programs.

One of my childcare clients was a part time babysitting Jon in Brooklyn. I began with the family when the child was 6-months until he was almost 3 years old. I would change diapers, put him down for naps, take him to the park in his stroller. Once he began eating solids I would make his lunches, take him on play dates and classes around the neighborhood. I would take him to music class, gym class and the YMCA. I would read books, color, and have play time with the child as well, respecting the parents no screen time rule.

I was a part time/date night sitter for a family of 3 in Brooklyn for 3 years. The family had one son and two daughters— when I started with the family the ages were 1,2, 4. I would come over after school and help with homework, have bath time with the kids, feed them dinner and make sure they were ready for bed. We would do a night time activity such as baking, arts and crafts or game play. I would then do there night time routine which was reading one book per child and I would then put them to bed.

I love cooking and this is one way that I connect with children— whether that be making them lunch or a snack or baking cookies with them. Children are always so inquisitive and curious and it always feels amazing to share your joys with them. I love watching kids grow and learn and hit their milestones.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Teaching cooking classes, reading, learning a new skill.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Open a non profit for kids cooking classes in underprivileged communities

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Cooking, reading, arts and crafts


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.