How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Mai G.

Education

Brooklyn College,
B.A. in Urban Sustainability
Minor in Sociology

Childcare Experience

Part-Time Babysitter
New York City, NY, 01/11 - 09/20
One Girl, age 3 until age 11

Weekend Nanny
New York City, NY, 01/20 - 03/20
One girl age 5, three boys ages 6, 9, and 13

Nanny/Household Manager/Family Assistant
New York, NY, 01/14 - 12/18
Two girl, ages 4 and 2, one boy age 4 months

Professional Experience

Accounting Manager
New York, NY, 10/19 - 03/20

Events Coordinator
New York, NY, 01/18 - 09/19

Floor Manage
New York, NY, 01/17 - 01/18

Research Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 01/16 - 06/17

Assistant Food Truck Manager
Brooklyn, NY, 04/14 - 09/16

About me

I am a born-and-bred New Yorker whose parents emigrated from Israel to New York City with my older brother in the 90s. I grew up speaking Hebrew in the home and consider myself relatively fluent, I am also fluent in English and proficient in Spanish. I did all of my schooling in New York including college, I graduated from CUNY Brooklyn College with a major in Urban Sustainability and a minor in Sociology. I majored in Urban Sustainability because of a strong love of nature and the outdoors despite being raised as a city child, my parents and I spent plenty of time outside exploring the city and the world at large. I definitely try to impart my love of the natural world and curiosity for it on any of the children I have the pleasure of working with.
I started my career in an LGBTQ+ household in 2011 that also upheld kosher standards in their home and outside of the home. The position began when their daughter was 2 up until recently, as her parents feel she has aged past the point of needing nanny supervision. The position included pick up for school, managing play-dates and activities, keeping her fed and happy, as well as maintaining school work completion and other duties. Then I worked for a family of a 4 year old, 2 year old, and a 4 month old on my off days from college with full nannying responsibility as well as managing the household. Childcare was completed in tandem with another full-time nanny and we worked as a team to complete whatever was needed for the day. I also executed any ad hoc tasks for the principals. Lastly, I worked with a family with a 5 year old, a 6 year old, a 9 year old and a 13 year old on weekends to help manage their activities and their household. This included consistent housework in order to keep everything tidy (maintaining the children’s rooms, laundry, dishes), walking the family Bernadoodle, as well as keeping the children fed and prepared for the day.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen

I will be SmartSitting while...

Cooking food at home, exploring somewhere new or familiar with my mom, enjoying a run or some yoga, reading a book, playing video games, trying to bake and failing.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I would love to grow with a family as a member of their household team to eventually be able to help them run their household and be a nanny/household manager/family assistant. I really enjoyed my job where there was a lot of household management needed while also being a nanny, I felt there was an added layer of excitement!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love enjoying the outdoors and talking about the world around us. When exploring both living and nonliving components, I find children have some really great questions and observations that allow us to have larger conversations about foundational education concepts in STEAM and that creates a depth of interest in learning that is not easily achieved. I love to cook and bake (even though I am not a great baker) with children, I feel there are a lot of skills that get translated beyond the ability to make something delicious. It teaches them patience, preciseness, order, how to work cleanly and stay organized as you complete a task, as well as safety and the need to move through your environment with awareness.


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.