For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Sam F.


Carnegie Mellon University,
B.F.A. in Directing

Childcare Experience

NYC, NY, 08/14 - 06/15
Two boys, ages 8 and 11.

Brooklyn, NY, 01/15 - 06/15
Boy, age 3; Girl, age 7.

Saint Petersburg, FL, 05/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 2.

Professional Experience

Teaching Assistant
Pittsburgh, PA, 08/10 - 05/14

Theatre Teacher/Mentor
Pittsburgh, PA, 08/11 - 05/14

About me

I’m a theater artist living in Brooklyn who has worked as a nanny, sitter, or teaching assistant for over six years. Most recently, I was the after school nanny to a 5 year old boy on the UWS for two years. I’ve worked with a wide range of kids, including a ten year old boy who always wins at one-on-one, a seven year old boy who argued with me about Anna Karenina, and my own baby sister who was born premature. What drew me to theater as a young man is also what fuels me in my work with kids— the idea that a large imagination and a heightened sense of creativity is the best way to open up about how you feel and to understand how others are feeling.

I’m always reading on my own, and when I spend time with a kid I love to read what they’re reading along side of them. I also think kids should always be creating their own stories— on paper, through iPhone cameras, with paint— and I believe that creating narratives is the best way to learn. I’m a huge fan of baseball and other sports, and think that being outdoors and part of a team (formal or informal) is simply awesome.

What forms part of the foundation of who I am and how I work with kids is my belief that emotional honesty is an important form of strength and character, and so is running, drawing, flying kites, playing catch, and putting on plays.

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Working as a freelance director and writer, rehearsing plays in my living room or on my roof or elsewhere. Walking my dog, Izzy-- a sweet deaf three year old rescue who loves peanut butter and fetch. Getting better at cooking.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still living Brooklyn with my dog, working consistently for Off-Broadway theaters as a director, writer, and assistant director. Hopefully my apartment will be a little bigger and cleaner, by then. In an ideal world, I'll be playing center field for a softball team.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Story-telling in any medium. Reading and talking about what you're reading. Anything outside, particularly if it involves running or playing catch. Making movies on my phone.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.