For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kurt J.

Education

Mid-Atlantic Christian University,
B.A. in Bible & Theology (minor in preaching)

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/14 - Present
Two boys, ages 10 and 8

Temporary Nanny
New York, NY, 06/14 - 06/14
Twin boy/girl infants

Camp Counselor
San Clemente, CA, 06/13 - 07/13
Kids, grades 2-5

Sports coach (football, basketball, volleyball)
San Clemente, CA, 09/12 - 12/14
Middle school

Professional Experience

Youth Minister
San Clemente, CA, 06/12 - 12/14

About me

My life experience so far has taught me emphatically that my two basic talents are teaching and creating. So anything I do well--my songwriting, being a manny--is an extension of those two basic talents, informed and colored by an open and honest heart. Eventually I concluded that the only life that could make sense for me would be one in which I do the things I love and am good at. Less than two months after reaching that conclusion, I was officially a SmartSitter.

I like to spend my time reading books, exploring Brooklyn and the rest of the city, writing music, and being involved with my church in various ways. I also grew up on Long Island so I am able to see my family somewhat regularly. I balance a relatively quiet lifestyle with random adventures and mischief: I have trained for professional wrestling, acted and danced in a play for the Negro Master Barber Association of North Carolina, lived in 5 different states, and most recently was featured in a news documentary that aired on Japanese television about "mannies" and changing gender roles.

Most of my experience as a manny has been in the form of an after-school position with two boys, now ages 10 and 8. Among the many joys this has brought me, I've been able to encourage their musical education (they both play instruments) by overseeing their practice times and introducing them to various new genres. I've also babysat twin infants, which required diaper changes, serving dinner, reading stories, and preventing one very young boy from biting his twin sister. Before SmartSitting, I was a youth minister to teenagers, a football/basketball/volleyball coach and guitar instructor to middle schoolers, and a camp counselor and 1st through 6th graders.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Writing music, at church, watching comedies on Netflix.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Touring (sometimes) as a musician with a few albums under my belt. Teaching at church. Married. A dad.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Guitar, piano, songwriting, football, basketball, exercise, drawing.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.