For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Brent T.

Education

University of Oklahoma,
B.A. in English Literature
Masters in Education

Childcare Experience

Manny/House Manager
Montclair, NJ, 09/14 - Present
Twin boys, age 12

Site Director at Community After School Program
Norman, OK, 08/10 - 05/13
Children, ages 5-8

Camp Counselor/Division Director
Nisswa, MN, 05/11 - 08/13
Ages 6-16

Manny
Norman, OK, 08/08 - 05/10
1 boy, age 5-7

Camp Counselor
Raquette Lake, NY, 05/08 - 08/08
Ages 6-16

Professional Experience

Teacher
Norman, OK, 08/13 - 05/14

About me

I'm super passionate. When I love something I really love it and I put my whole heart into it. If I'm not really passionate about something then I'm not going to do it (except laundry, that's just got to get done). Life is too short to do things I don't love. I absolutely love the important people in my life. I'm passionate about people. The ones who make me happy I keep and I treat well and I love hard. They are the reason I get up each day.

I am often too nice, I've been told. I've never thought that was possible but I guess I can be! I like to make people happy. I may accommodate others too much but it's benefitted me more than hurt me. I'm a firm believer in flexibility (when you've been a teacher you just have to be!). I will give a lot without expecting a lot in return.

I'm very empathetic. I try very hard to never judge too quickly before I know context. I always give people the benefit of the doubt and always see what's awesome about others, no need to pick at flaws.

I'm still waiting for an owl to drop off my letter to Hogwarts (I'm a Slytherin).

I often make mistakes but usually only once. I try not to eat too much meat and I really love dogs (as pets not food). I don't love cats but I can be around them and not allergic.

I like to get lost in Central Park, try to speak Spanish and buy things at the Brooklyn Flea. I'm from Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains. I'm a lover of country music, cowboy boots and horses. I'm a mean two-stepper.

I'm proud of who I've become. The only thing I want to do is help kids feel the same way. I know for sure that feeling is developed with the help of great caregivers and teachers. This is what I want to offer the world.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Sitting in a Broadway theatre, strolling through a museum or down Central Park West, buying chocolate chip cookies from Dean and Deluca, or brunching at a cool new spot with friends.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Still living in New York City and working with kids in some capacity, whether that be as a manny or teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music is big to me. I love to sing and dance with kids and play instruments (home-made ones are the best)! I also play saxophone and like to jam on that. Books are always fun to dive into. I love to read with kids. We get to explore new worlds and go on adventures through great stories. I love swimming and being in the water. I swam competitively my whole life and taught swimming for years. I'm also really into tennis and basketball. The arts and athletics are my favorites!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.