For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

David S.

Education

University of Arizona '11,
B.A. in Psychology
Minor in Sociology

Childcare Experience

Manny/Tutor
New York, NY, 05/14 - Present
One boy, age 12

Behavioral Health Case Manager
Tucson, AZ, 09/13 - 04/14
50+ clients, ages 4-20

Respite and Therapeutic Day Program Provider
Tucson, AZ, 01/12 - 09/13
Children, ages 4-17

Summer Camp Counselor
Shandaken, NY, 06/11 - 08/11
Boys, ages 10-12

Professional Experience

Manny/Tutor
New York, NY, 05/14 - Present

Behavioral Health Case Manager
Tucson, AZ, 09/13 - 04/14

Respite and Therapeutic Day program provider/BHT
Tucson, AZ, 01/12 - 09/13

Summer Camp Counselor
Shandaken, NY, 06/11 - 08/11

About me

First, let me discuss my philosophy when working with families and their children. I believe and practice a positivist approach. This means that I praise and reinforce positive and appropriate behaviors and try to use positive interventions to replace unwanted or inappropriate behavior. These intervention strategies include planned ignoring, redirection, give choices, say "no" with "yes", and many more.

In brief, I have worked with children ages 4-17 and even young adults 18-21 in a variety of roles. Specifically I have worked as a camp counselor, a respite provider, a therapeutic day program provider, a manny, and interned while working with children of divorce and changing families. Whether I was working in the behavioral health field, at a summer camp, or in a family's home, I strive to provide excellent support. I believe in open communication so I can continue to support current family expectations and values while also explaining my methods.

Personally, I can find humor in most situations (which helps not becoming frustrated with the most inappropriate of tantrums). Perhaps this is why in my free time I perform stand-up. My other interests include hiking, watching sports, and reading.

I appreciate the experiences in Georgia and Arizona that have shaped myself, and look forward to more years in New York City, perhaps working with your family.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Writing/Performing Comedy Hiking

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In graduate school and/or starring in my next comedy special on HBO

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Appropriately advocating for their wants and needs Exploring new interests Playing sports Flexing creative muscles (Legos, jokes, painting, working with clay)


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.