For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kenia G.

Education

Touro College of Nursing,
( working on) BS in Nursing

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 02/14 - 08/14
2 girls, ages 5 and 6 months

Part-time Back-up Care
Manhattan, NY, 01/14 - 06/14
Boy, 11

Professional Experience

US Army
Brooklyn, New York, 05/08 - 01/13

About me

As a young girl, I started babysitting for my next door neighbors and helped raise their three children. When I started with the family, the oldest was only 8 or 9 years old. I took her to after-school, picked up her little brother, who was 4 at the time, and brought them to their house. I heated up meals and helped with homework. I continued this until I graduated and went into the Army. While in the Army and stationed in Ft Totten, NY, I became another family's nanny for a year, watching and caring for their 2-year-old son and newborn son. Caring for these children, I fell in love with being nanny and with children. I learn just as much from children everyday as they can learn from me.

I am a loving, caring person and I am passionate about a lot. I am always reading and learning about new things, new ideas. Currently, I am a Nursing major at Touro College in Brooklyn, so I definitely have an interest in health and science. Now that I get to learn about how to care for others in sickness and in health, I have developed a new passion besides caring for children.

Being a role model or big sister to a child is the the most rewarding job I can put my hands on at the moment. I am a good role model because firstly, I have a good moral character. I am determined, educated, kind, and I love the sense of accomplishment I get when I know I have little ears and little eyes learning from me. That's what makes me who I am today, the children I've watched and cared for. The families I've come to love and who have trusted me.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I have any free time and am not studying, I read a lot on my Kindle. It's usually about a matter I have been thinking about. I love dancing and singing and enjoy my time with family and friends or my puppy.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years, I see myself as a Registered Nurse working in a hospital on the Pediatric floor.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I speak French fluently. That is what I love teaching children, how to speak the beautiful romantic language French. Even if they only retain a couple of words or phrases, I still enjoy it.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.