For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Dinah D.


City College of New York,
Bachelors of Arts in Human Services and Education

Associates in Early Childhood Education

Childcare Experience

Co-Special Education Teacher
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present
Students, ages 6,7,8

New York, NY, 09/12 - Present
Two girls, ages 7 and 10

Co-Preschool Teacher (integrated class)
New York, NY, 06/10 - 08/14
Students, ages 2.5 -5

New York, NY, 10/12 - 08/14
One girl, age 4

Co-K-Teacher for Summer (self contained class)
New York, NY, 06/13 - 08/14
Students, ages 5 and 6

Professional Experience

Co-Special Ed Teacher (self contained class)
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present

Co-Special Ed Teacher (self contained class 6,7,8)
New York, NY, 09/14 - Present

Co-K-Summer Teacher (Self contained class 5,6's)
New York, NY, 06/13 - 08/14

Co-Preschool Teacher (Integrated 2.5-5's)
New York, NY, 06/10 - 06/14

Cooperative Preschool Teacher (2.5,3's)
New York, NY, 09/05 - 06/10

Camp Director/Assistant (summers)
New York, NY, 07/99 - 08/03

About me

My dedication to the lives of children and families is ongoing; it began at the age of fourteen as a summer camp counselor, leading to senior camp counselor and proudly growing into a camp director at the age of eighteen for children ranging from the ages 4 to 13. Ever since, I have dedicated my life to what I enjoy, teaching, babysitting, mentoring, and most importantly, helping children and families strive in their daily lives. I have 12+ years of experience teaching early childhood education, 5 of these years in special education and a total of 18 years in the field of; early childhood education,babysitting and creating individual at home plans for children and families based on their child's and families overall goals.
My passion consist of my love and driven heart for giving back to children and families the love, loyalty and ongoing compassion and positive environment I was given growing up by my family and mentors. If I can make a positive difference in someones life, especially in the lives of children and families, then I am happy. I am energetic, optimistic and am motivated by challenge. I put children and families first and honestly love what I do. At 36 years of age I could happily say I have maintain an ongoing successful relationship with the families at my school setting, babysitting and in the ongoing mentorship/sitter environment.

I enjoy exploring culture (languages/food) and incorporating child's strength and interest in our time together.I find the importance in successful childcare is always meeting the childs social emotional needs and leading with experience and passion while I currently teach in the Lower East Side/East Village and working privately with families and being of support to families by providing them with ease and excellence as part of my ongoing day to day life. I have experience coaching cooperative sports ( 4-11-year-olds for Madison Square Garden Liberty Kids) and consider sports and creative arts to be influential in childrens social/emotional growth. Educators and families describe my philosophy and ways of teaching/babysitting to be life changing in the most heartfelt and caring ways.

I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

When I am not babysitting I am being a positive mentor, role model, leader and educator to my 1st and 2nd grade students with special needs in the east village. It brings me such passion to combine my love for teaching, mentoring and supporting families outside and inside the classroom. When I am not teaching or babysitting, I spend my time embracing ; zen and rejevunating while connecting and offering a variety of support for families in NYC.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Continue to bring positive experiences to the lives of children and families in the areas of meeting the social emotional and overall needs of children and families, while emphasizing the importance of self esteem building, and hands on approaches to learning.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Fluent in Spanish. Highly experienced working with both special needs and typically developing population. Can teach/lead/participate in various sport including basketball, baseball, and football. Skilled in behavior management and creating a clear, structured schedule to ensure that children's task are complete in a timely manner. I love to encourage a positive attitude and a nurturing environment and when with multiple children, it is important to make each child feel important, valued and that time shared is in warmth and good spirit. I am highly adaptive at incorporating story - telling and arts and arranging the time based on any immediate changes. Organizational and adaptive skills are highly successful.

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.