For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Caitlin S.

Education

University of Connecticut 2009,
B.A. Political Science, Human Rights
International Education Policy

Relay Graduate School of Education,
M.A. in Education (Currently pursuing)

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Providence, RI, 05/11 - 03/12
Boy, 18 months, Girl, age 5. Boy, age 8

Campus Big Buddies Volunteer
Storrs, CT, 09/06 - 05/10
Children ages 5-11

Projects Abroad Volunteer
Ofaakor, Ghana, 12/08 - 01/09
Infants to teens

Weekend Babysitter
Coventry, RI, 09/00 - 08/06
Two girls, infant - age 6 and 6-12; boy, age 2-8

Professional Experience

Middle School Teacher
Bronx, NY, 08/13 - Present

Community Center Site Coordinator
Albuquerque, NM, 03/12 - 07/13

Special Education Teacher and Coordinator
Antigua, Guatemala, 06/10 - 02/11

Special Education Teacher Assistant (Summer only)
Providence, RI, 05/07 - 08/08

About me

As an energetic, curious and eager teacher, I am passionate about education and being a lifelong and active learner myself. I spend countless hours with my nose in a book or hand on a chess piece. I believe strongly in malleable intelligence, and choose to engage my mind and body as much as possible. I rarely watch television – in fact, I relax by playing outside with my dog, going for a run, reading and exploring the city, my neighborhood and different parks.

Boredom is a concept I have never been able to understand! I have been fortunate enough to travel to a number of countries and 31 states! I love being able to share my experiences and knowledge with children and others around me while knowing I still have so much to learn. With about twelve years of babysitting, daycare and teaching experience, I can say that my best memories so far range from writing and performing an elaborate play with the children to teaching the children to play chess to just playing catch.

When it comes to childcare, my priorities are providing a safe and structured environment, developing a strong connection with the children and parents alike and creating a culture of learning and growth. It is very important to me that I establish rules and expectations with the parents with whom I am working and that I also get to know the children personally - their likes, dislikes and behavior so that we can have lots of fun together! I look forward to doing each of these with your family!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

spending time outdoors with my dog, playing chess, reading, and exploring all of the cool activities and landmarks the city has to offer!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working on education and health policy.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Include chess, Spanish, reading, playing outside and being as active and engaged as possible!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.