For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Julia S.

Education

The New School, Eugene Lang College,
B.A. in Philosophy

Childcare Experience

Au Pair
Castro-Urdiales, Spain, 06/13 - 08/13
Boy age 10, girl age 8

Professional Experience

Program Associate
New York, NY, 01/15 - Present

About me

I am a recent graduate of the Eugene Lang School at the New School with a degree in Philosophy. I currently work at a non-profit in the city, and am looking to move into babysitting for the flexibility it provides. I have worked in the public health realm for most of my life, and want to take this opportunity to explore other interests and job options before I commit and hopefully go to graduate school.

I have worked with kids in some capacity throughout my life and have always loved it. In high school, I babysat frequently for a family in my neighborhood with two little girls. I was an assistant counselor many summers for the YMCA aquatics camp in Bethesda, MD, where I took care of kids of all age ranges (early elementary through early middle school), assisting with various camp activities and primarily assisting with the swimming lessons of the camp. I also spent several summers working at Levine School of Music summer camp in Washington DC. At this camp, I was assigned a group of kids to take care of throughout the day, primarily ages 5-8. I assisted with the various camp activities as well as the music classes, and became very close with my campers.

This past summer, I lived with a family in northern Spain for two months as an au pair for the two kids. This experience taught me a lot as I was not only taking care of the two young kids and teaching them English, but also living in a foreign country and practicing my Spanish. I am very interested in engaging kids in athletics, music and art. I grew up playing several sports (soccer, basketball, softball and swimming) and still stay active. I also studied piano and guitar and enjoy engaging kids in music and art. I enjoy cooking and would love to cook for the kids if needed, as well as have fun cooking together. I tend to cook very healthy meals (though I enjoy having a slice of pizza in my Little Italy neighborhood now and then!).


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Exploring new career opportunities, including work in music, writing and public health and activism. I spend my free time exploring the city, cooking, working out, and playing/writing music.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Traveling, exploring, and constantly learning.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Cooking, sports (I grew up playing soccer, basketball, ice skating, softball, and I run regularly), music (I studied classical piano for 10 years and I also play guitar), reading (I grew up in a very literary family and love to read books with kids I babysit for), and imaginary games (I think imagination and playfulness is extremely important for children, and want to help foster that in any child I spend time with).


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.