For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Erika S.

Education

Columbia University School of Social Work,
Masters in Social Work

Saint Michael's College,
Education
Anthropology & Sociology

Childcare Experience

Evening/Weekend Sitter
Manhattan, NY, , 06/17 - Present
One child, age 2

Evening/Weekend Sitter
Manhattan, , 09/16 - Present
Boy age 7, girl age 4

Full Time Nanny
Manhattan, NY, 09/16 - 03/17
One child, 4 months

Fully Time Nanny
TriBeca, NY, 09/15 - 08/16
Two two year old boys

Full Time Nanny
Chelsea, NY, 09/14 - 06/15
Three boys, ages four weeks, 7 and 9

Professional Experience

Intern, Center for Anti-Violence Education
Brooklyn, NY, 09/18 - 05/19

Intern, Full Service Comm. School Health Center
Paterson, NJ, 09/17 - 05/18

Para Educator, Essex Elementary School
Essex Junction, VT, 09/10 - 06/14

Assistant Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Shelburne, VT, 06/10 - 08/10

About me

I was raised on a boarding high school campus in MA and CT so I've always been surrounded by families and small children and lots of learning. Growing up I was the only one my age who liked to babysit so from the age of ten, I had an untapped wealth of families asking me to babysit.

After graduating with a bachelors in elementary education, I worked in a public school in VT for four years with special needs students in grades kindergarten, first and second grade. My students' needs included Downs Syndrome, Autism Spectrum, and hearing and vision deficits. I also created and facilitated the recess program overseeing all recesses daily. The bulk of my time was helping students problem-solve and doing lots of conflict resolution. Regardless of ability, skills like self advocation, using words instead of bodies, asking for help, learning to say stop, and play-initiation are all really valuable skills to teach any young child. After moving to New York City, I nannied for three years for families ages four weeks old and up. Each family had had more than one child which makes me an expert at balancing my time and attention between two or more children. I'm a big believer in In 2017, I became a full-time student at Columbia University, completing a Masters in Social Work in May 2019. Despite an intense schedule, I continued to babysit for families on evenings and weekends.

I’m now working full time as a social worker only looking to fill my extra time with babysitting in the evenings and weekends.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with my wife, hosting casual dinner parties or tending to my extensive plant collection.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Living closer to nature with some kids and a backyard

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music, sign language, cooking and baking.


© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.