For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Dallas C.

Education

Deakin University,
Bachelor in Contemporary Arts- Dance and Drama

Columbia University,
Master of Science in Social Work

University,
B.C.A in Dance + Drama

University,
Diploma of Youth Work

Childcare Experience

Nanny
Melbourne, Australia, 06/08 - 12/08
Three girls, age 5 months and 3 year old twins

Nanny
NYC, NY, 06/12 - 07/15
Boy 1

Nanny
NYC, NY, 01/13 - 08/15
Girl 4, Boy 9

Nanny
Los Angles, CA, 01/08 - 06/08
Two girls ages 5 and 7

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/12 - 09/13
Two girls, ages 8 and 10

Nanny
New York, NY, 09/11 - 01/13
Two boys, ages 5 and 7

Camp Counselor
Pittsford, Vermont, VT, 06/09 - 09/09
Campers, ages 7-17

Professional Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 01/13 - Present

Nanny
New York, NY, 06/12 - Present

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/12 - 09/13

About me

I have been working with young people and families for over 10 years. In 2017 I graduated with my Masters in Social Work from Columbia University with a focus on, you guessed it, Family, Youth, and Children.

I came to Social Work as a way to expand my work with young people, families and their support networks. I have worked with multiple families across the US and in Australia with children 5 months- 18 years old. I believe that we all do better when we work together and what that looks like is specific to a family's needs and strengths so I tailor my role to meet the needs of each family I work with. As far as child raising philosophies go I believe in being consistent, thoughtful and compassionate. I believe amplifying a young person's ability builds self-confidence and responsibility. if they can complete a task I should don be doing it for them, my role is to support the things they are yet to master, from big emotions to safety, to navigating social situations. Beyond that, I am here to support you to raise your children so I will take my lead from what your family values.

I am happy to create, imagine and explore with your young one or share my social work experience, including school systems/ IEP’s and mental/ behavioral health resources if that would be helpful to your family.

My approach to nannying is a whole family support. For example, if doing your child’s laundry reduces your parenting stress and allows you an extra 30 minutes to engage with your child I am happy to take on that task. Cooking stress you out? How about your 10-year-old and I learn some recipes the whole family like to eat? Something they can cook without you or me!

I have a special ability to get things done and help families find routines reduce resistance and work for them.
I believe that sleep is one of the best gifts you can offer a family and so bedtime is a specialty of mine.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love to cook, craft, read, garden and be out in the world, all things I happily share with my young friends. I love living in NYC because of the abundance of experiences on offer.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

In 5 years time, I want to be working with young people and their families, supporting them to have healthy relationships with themselves, each other and their communities. I’d also love to be a foster parent, taking dance classes again and have a healthy apartment herb garden.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love engaging in what they are interested in and injecting a measured dose of critical thinking to further exploration. I can hold my own in crafting, dancing, life skills, swimming, adventure walks but the young ones are set to beat me 100% of the time if we ever happen to play computer games though, generally I reserve screen time for when the parents are home.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.