For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jan C.

Education

CUNY Hunter College,
B.A in Physics

Childcare Experience

Full-Time Nanny
Manhattan, NY, 03/11 - 08/13
Two Children, ages 15 months and 4 years

Full-Time Nanny
Brooklyn, NY, 09/13 - 02/15
One Boy, age 3

Professional Experience

Dog Walker/ Sitter
Manhattan, NY, 07/13 - 11/14

Tutor
Manhattan, NY, 08/13 - 03/14

About me

I am a mature and energetic young woman who loves children. I have a Bachelor's degree in Physics from Hunter college and speak Spanish and English fluently. I have had the opportunity to work as a camp counselor and travel across South America teaching English to impoverished children. These facilities have enabled me to develop supportive and trusting relationships with children and their families. They have also instilled the ability to work in a fast-paced setting where multitasking is essential.

I have been a nanny for over 5 years. Throughout this time, I have worked with children of various ages, genders and learning capabilities, including children with Autism, ADHD and other special needs. My duties include educational activities, pick-up/drop offs, after-school activities, play dates, trips to the park, story time, arts and crafts, potty training, pretend play, field trips (nature walks, libraries and bookstores, museums) light cleaning, running errands, laundry and cooking. I consider my role as a nanny very important. Happiness and safety are my primary concerns and I will always strive to achieve this.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

I love to spend time with my friends and family. I enjoy trying and learning new things like food, recipes, classes, workouts, languages, etc. I'm a big reader and film enthusiast. I also really love traveling, seeing new places and learning from different cultures. Volunteering at animal shelters is also something that I do a lot in my spare time. I love to tutor and teach children what I've been lucky enough to enjoy learning.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I'd love to still be a nanny to a great family. Hopefully I'm someone they can count on and consider a part of the family in 5 years. I'd love to have completed my academic plans as well. I hope to be doing more for my community and helping others as much as possible.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I try to teach children to be independent, creative thoughtful people. Something that I consider really important is education. So I try to teach children how fun math and science can be. My favorite activity is making cool science projects with children! I also love arts and crafts, making up games, tea parties, playing dress up, volleyball, hockey, baking, exploring NYC, going to museums, etc.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.