For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kafui A.

Education

Kenyon College,
B.A. in English and Media

Childcare Experience

Family Assistant
New York, NY, 04/14 - Present
Two boys, ages 11 and 16

Family Assistant/Manny
New York, NY, 09/13 - 04/14
One boy, age 3

Family Assistant/Manny
New York, NY, 09/11 - 09/13
One boy, age 9

Professional Experience

Personal Assistant
New York, NY, 09/11 - Present

About me

I’ve been nannying/tutoring/mentoring younger (and at times, older) special needs children since I was 12 years old. I’ve worked with ages 0-17 in multiple capacities. My experience with infants and toddlers is extensive; from about 10 years old, my father would take me to Ghana every summer. While there I worked for my aunt, who owned a daycare in a shopping complex. There I learned all the basics of infant care, and worked there every summer until I was 16. While I was in college, I took care of two newborns, starting my Sophomore year. I took care of them until I graduated, and even lived with one of the kids and his family starting my senior year. I planned trips/activities for the kids, prepped healthy meals, and provided supplemental house-management to their families. I still am in close touch with both families, and their children are still super attached to me!

While I was in college (I went to a very small liberal arts school called Kenyon), I became the personal assistant to my school’s president after befriending her. This position helped me get to know every professor/administrator at Kenyon (as well as their children), and I used my connections to become the number one nanny/tutor on campus and finance my education. I graduated in 2010, and I immediately began teaching for an AmeriCorps program called City Year.

During City Year, I worked with eighth graders (ages 12-17) who had extreme behavioral problems and taught them about the importance of respect and self-control while preparing them to pass their state exams. I also coordinated after school programming/tutoring sessions for grades K-5 and started a step team to reward the younger children who finished their homework in a timely manner. Since the fall of 2011, I have been doing part-time "manny" and personal assistant work for a professor of Columbia University, who has one autistic child, age 9, and a journalist, who has two children with ADHD, ages 5 and 7.

Parents tend to like me because I always keep the house neat and tidy (while teaching kids about the importance of doing the same) and I’m an excellent cook and disciplinarian. Their kids love me because of how relatable I am; I bond with every child by sharing my own experiences and hobbies in order to find the common ground needed for healthy, long-lasting friend/mentor relationships. Take a chance with me, and you won’t be disappointed!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Listening to Lana Del Rey and Weeknd, and shopping at Trader Joe's. I love thrift shopping and blogging, too. I'm an avid distance runner.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

The proud owner of a condo or house! I kind of have a new niche with my writing and would love to work from home.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Cooking, cleaning, developing communication skills, arts and crafts, music, etc.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.