How Our Nanny Agency is Handling Hiring During COVID-19 ›

For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Michael L.

Education

Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Art,
B.A. in Writing

Columbia University,
Psychology Certificate Program

The New School,
B.A. in Writing

Childcare Experience

Manny
New York, NY, 10/13 - 02/16
One boy, age 9

Manny
New York, NY, , 03/10 - 12/12
Two boys, age 5

Manny
New York, NY, 01/11 - 11/12
Two boys, ages 13-months and 2

Professional Experience

Freelance Scriptwriter
New York, NY, 12/15 - Present

Program Assistant at the Child Mind Institute
New York, NY, 09/19 - Present

Research Assistant at the DAN Lab at Columbia
New York, NY, 01/18 - 02/20

6th Grade ELA Lead Teacher
New York, NY, 06/16 - 11/16

1st Grade Associate Teacher
New York, NY, 02/16 - 06/16

About me

I first began babysitting over 15 years ago and have been working with children as a manny or teacher since graduating college in 2009. It is a huge point of pride that I am still very close with the families that I've worked with in the past.

My goal as a manny is whole-child development. I develop children's social skills by having respectful, open-ended conversations. Emotional development comes from listening, naming, and never negating their feelings. Physically: I can run around and play sports at the park all day and I make sure they're eating plenty of healthy food. For mental development, I enjoy reading to kids (especially in my silly voices!), I ensure homework is complete and tutor when necessary, and I love playing all kinds of game. Through my experience and work at the Child Mind Institute, I have strategies and skills to handle any situations that may arise (whether that's hesitance to go down for a nap or squabbles between siblings).

I use my humor to engage and my patience to support. I take my responsibility as a male role-model very seriously so I'm constantly studying and reading how I can best serve a child's needs. Whether I'm helping a toddler learn how to put on his shoes or showing a pre-teen the respectful way to order at a restaurant, I always have a micro and a macro lesson that is aiming to build awareness, confidence, and self-reliance.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Twins
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

...going to a coffee shop and writing, rock climbing at Brooklyn Boulders, going for a run in Prospect Park, watching sports, seeing an improv performance or a comedy show, cooking, or reading.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

...defending my dissertation! I have been accepted in a PhD program. In two years I will have my Masters (and be licensed) in Marriage and Family Therapy, and will move on to research and developing intervention programs, in which I'm most interested in preventative parent training in fields of attachment and PCIT-T strategies to help parents have all the tools in their toolbox.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

...playing sports (I've played just about every sport, short of jai alai at one time or another in my life, so a lot of my time with kids is spent on a field, court, or rink of some sort), building Lego (you give me some blocks and I'll give you a spaceship), playing games (card games, board games, word games, any kind of game!), and reading (especially stories like "Harry Potter" where I can do different voices for all the characters).


© 2021 SmartSitting, LLC. All rights reserved.