For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kali B.

Education

Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Art,
B.A. in Contemporary Music

Childcare Experience

Summer Camp Teaching Assistant
Topanga, CA, 06/12 - Present
Children, ages 3-7

Group Leader (Camp Counselor)
Topanga, CA, 06/15 - Present
Children, age 10

Group Leader
Topanga, CA, 06/11 - 07/14
Children, ages 7-9

Part-time Babysitter
Topanga, CA, 05/11 - Present
One girl, age 1-5

Professional Experience

Sales Associate
Venice, CA, 06/15 - 06/15

About me

I have worked with children of all ages, from infants to fifth graders, in both academic and play environments. I am a firm believer in the power of clear, non-judgmental boundaries with children. I set clear rules about respect and safety, as I find setting these limits early allows even more space for creativity and trust. I like to treat children as peers, knowing that I am the responsible party, but giving them opportunities to explore their own abilities and leaving them space to explore their minds and interests more independently. I encourage communicating on a level field as it opens up the conversation and nurtures mutual respect between the children and I. Communication is key for me, and I love to engage in active, creative discussion with children, whether it be making up a story together, discussing a day at school, or talking through a incident with a friend or sibling.

I grew up in a tight-knit family that loves to cook, eat, and talk together. I am a pescetarian and have been for 12 years but my interest in food, cooking, baking, and eating often stretches beyond this dietary choice. My sister, whom I share a close bond with, is a professional cook, and lives and works in New York. Though I am an avid cook and baker, this is a passion she possesses even more so than myself. My passion, aside from children and education is in music. Listening to, writing, and recording music is my main creative outlet, and a skill I find great joy in sharing with children.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Attending concerts of local musicians, writing and recording my own music, baking and cooking at home, eating out with friends or family.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Working full time as an elementary school educator, married and a parent.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I love to engage in musical play with children. I play ukulele and sing and find that children love to engage with the instrument, wanting to learn chords or just explore freely. I also love outdoor play, working in a garden together or just spending time in nature. Finally, I find cooking and baking with children to be very rewarding for both the eaters and the cooks.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.