For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Jillian M.

Education

Fordham University,
B.A. in International Political Economy
B.A. in French

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/14 - Present
One girl, age 2

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 01/14 - Present
Two boys, ages 2 and 4

Part-time Babysitter
Cherry Hill, NJ, 01/03 - 01/10
Two boys, ages 4-11 and newborn-7

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/14 - Present
One boy, age 2

Professional Experience

Early Childcare Center Supervisor
Cherry Hill, NJ, 05/07 - 08/10

Marketing Coordinator
New York, NY, 07/13 - 07/15

Retail Associate and Knitting Instructor
Haddonfield, NJ, 06/12 - Present

Health Education Intern
Bronx, NY, 09/12 - 05/13

Piano/Voice Instructor
Cherry Hill, NJ, 01/05 - 08/09

Driver/Dispatcher
Bronx, NY, 08/09 - 05/13

About me

I love working with young children and have been doing so since age 13. The kids I work with inspire me everyday, and I love fostering their individual talents and interests. I am fully committed to helping raise a kind and innovative generation of kids and build my childcare philosophy on compassion and respect, for oneself, others, and the earth.

I am a very creative person and have taught music (piano and voice), knitting, and crafting on a professional basis, and I love sharing my skills with the children I watch. I am also kind, energetic, and organized, traits I use to foster creative, productive play within a structured environment to ensure safety and personal growth.

Throughout high school, I worked for a daycare/aftercare program where I watched 7-10 children, ages 1 month-12 years. This opportunity afforded me experience working with kids in all stages of development, supervising indoor and outdoor excursions with groups of young kids, leading arts & crafts and sports activities, and building relationships with a wide range of parents and children. Currently, I babysit part-time for several families in the downtown Brooklyn area with children aged 2-4.


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while...

Before returning to childcare, I worked in the publishing industry, so I love keeping up on new books. I enjoy crafting and run a small knitting blog and design company in my spare time. I am passionate about cooking and baking and often visit farmers markets and community gardens for fresh, local ingredients. Other hobbies include photography, yoga, and playing live music.

In 5 years, I hope to be...

I would love to continue working with kids in early education programs or through nonprofit work. I am committed to social justice and believe the work we do with children is imperative for creating a kinder, more tolerant global community.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

I really love sharing my passion for music with children. Whether it's singing songs in the house or the park, experimenting with new instruments, or playing games with rhythmic claps and snaps, I always try to impart my love for music to the kids I watch. All children respond to music and it has a wonderful impact on brain development, dexterity, and much more. I also enjoy fostering other creative talents such as drawing, painting, and building with various crafts and activities. I am conversationally fluent in French and enjoy working with French-speaking children and teaching French words and phrases to my English-speaking kids.


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.