For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Kristin B.

Education

Butler University,
B.S. in Elementary Education and Special Education

Childcare Experience

Summer Nanny
Carmel, IN, 06/14 - 08/14
Boy, age 8, Girl, age 10

Full-time Babysitter
Indianapolis, IN, 08/13 - 05/14
Boy, age 1, Girl, age 5

Day Camp Counselor
Fishers, IN, 05/13 - 08/13
Boys and Girls, ages 4-6

Day Camp Counselor
Fishers, IN, 05/12 - 08/12
Boy and Girls, ages 4-6

Summer Nanny
Indianapolis, IN, 06/11 - 08/11
Girl, age 2

Professional Experience

Student Teaching at Children's Hospital
Indianapolis, IN, 01/15 - 05/15

Student Teaching in 3rd grade classroom
Indianapolis, IN, 08/14 - 12/14

About me

From a young age I knew that I wanted to work with children. I started babysitting when I was in high school, and soon began spending my summers being a full-time nanny or working as a day camp counselor at the local YMCA. My love for children led me to major in education and get a degree in elementary education and special education. I gained one-of-a-kind experiences during my college student teaching. I had the opportunity to student teach in an urban inner city school, as well as in the rehabilitation unit in a children's hospital. Through my experiences, I have developed an understanding of children by working with children of all ages, from all different backgrounds, and students with special/medical needs. I love being a part of the excitement of learning, and helping each child develop to their full potential. I believe that children learn best through real life experiences that are hands-on and engaging, and should be given opportunities to explore the world around them. My goal in childcare is to give children those opportunities to help them develop into who they are meant to be and to become individual thinkers in a safe and fun environment! I enjoy creating relationships with families where children feel like they can be themselves, and parents trust me with the care of their children.

I am very social and enjoy trying out new things with my friends and family. I love to read, watch any kind of movie, go to concerts, try out new restaurants, find new recipes to try to bake, and find fun DIY projects to try to make. I love being active outside and going walks. Growing up my family traveled a lot, so traveling is a huge passion of mine, especially to the beach! I love experiencing new cultures and learning about different places. I hope to share with children this love for trying new things, and exploring the world around us!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

Spending time with my family and my friends. I enjoy exploring new areas, trying new foods, reading a good book, and spending time outside. Education is a huge passion of mine, so I enjoy learning more about the profession to help myself grow as an educator!

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Teaching at a school I love and have my own classroom! I would like to attend grad school and continue my degree in special education and get my masters in life skills teaching. I would also one day like to have a family of my own!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Reading, arts and crafts, creating our own play materials (such as play dough, slime, paint, bubbles), making and trying new foods, playing games and puzzles, music/dancing, being outside and active, and helping children become independent thinkers and problem solvers. I love being able to mix learning and educational experiences with fun/hands-on activities!


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.