For Families

Our Babysitters & Nannies

Andrea H.

Education

Oklahoma City University,
Bachelors of Music in Vocal Performance

Appalachian State University,
Masters of Music in Vocal Performance

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/15 - 07/17
Boy, age 10, and boy and girl twins, age 7

Nanny
Chapel Hill, NC, 07/14 - 07/15
Girl, age 3, and boy, age 2

Nanny
Chapel Hill, NC, 07/13 - 05/14
Boy, age 4

Babysitter
Chapel Hill, NC, 08/13 - 05/14
Four girls, ages 5, 5, 5, and 2

Professional Experience

Tutor
New York, NY, 09/16 - Present

Pre-K Teacher
Chapel Hill, NC, 07/12 - 07/13

Pre-K Teacher
Chapel Hill, NC, 07/12 - 07/13

Literacy Tutor, 3rd-5th grade
Oklahoma City, OK, 10/08 - 05/10

Shelter Volunteer
Boone, NC, 08/10 - 05/12

Music Together Teacher
Chapel Hill, NC, 07/13 - 07/14

Children's Choir Director
Oklahoma City, OK, 08/09 - 05/10

About me

I absolutely love kids. I'm inspired by the chance to look at the world through their always-excited eyes, and I'm passionate about finding the best ways to help them learn to process new information, deal with their emotions, and make good choices as they grow.

I have worked as a nanny for the past 4 years, and before that I taught Pre-K in a Reggio Emilia-inspired preschool. I started babysitting when I was in high school, and I've worked with kids from infancy through the teenage years, including as a literacy tutor for 3rd-5th graders.

I've also been a children's music teacher for about five years. I teach private voice lessons and group classes for elementary & middle school kids. I completed Music Together teacher training in 2013 and have really enjoyed teaching MT classes as well as creating original early childhood music curricula for a couple of different clients.

My background is actually in music performance, not education--I'm a classically trained opera singer, and I work in that capacity as well. Music is a huge part of my life and who I am, and I find that it's a great way to connect with kids, whether we're singing together, having a dance party to their favorite movie soundtrack, or discussing favorite musical artists.

I'm also a huge foreign language nerd and speak fluent French and good conversational German and Italian--working on Spanish next!


I have professional child care experience with...

  • Infants
  • Toddlers
  • Preschoolers
  • School-aged (K-5)
  • Preteen
  • Teenagers
  • Twins
  • Multiples
  • Special Needs

I will be SmartSitting while...

-Singing (rehearsing/performing) -Attending plays and concerts -Listening to music (all types, from classical to punk) -Reading (especially love sci-fi and fantasy) -Writing (journaling or stories--hope to write a children's book someday!) -Cooking & entertaining -Having nice chats about life with family and friends

In 5 years, I hope to be...

Making a living primarily as a performing classical singer and starting my own family.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children...

Music and dancing, storytelling and reading books, outdoor play, board and card games, conversation and problem solving (trouble with friends, "I want to climb the tree but I'm scared," etc.)


© 2017 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.